NECROPANTHER: Colorado Metallers To Release Oppression EP Later This Fall; New Track Streaming

Colorado-based metal unit NECROPANTHER will release a new EP later this Fall. Titled Oppression, the three-song offering was written entirely by newest member, bassist Marcus Corich.

Recorded, mixed, and mastered by the band’s Paul Anop and Joe Johnson, Oppression is NECROPANTHER‘s first-ever EP. While the next full-length will, as always, be a combined effort, the band plans to release EPs periodically throughout the months to come that exclusively showcase one member’s individual vision and compositions.

Oppression, tells the story of an artist interned in a forced labor camp so that the state can stifle his art. The songs reflect the confusion, violence, and dread of institutional abuses, presented in a melodic death metal style that is distinctly American. /Oppression depicts political failure and the claustrophobia of a world without privacy, refuge, or self-expression.

Oppression will be self-released November 21st via the official NECROPANTHER Bandcamp page. For preorders and to stream “The Camp” go to THIS LOCATION.

Oppression Track Listing:
1. The Train
2. The Camp
3. The Fugitive

NECROPANTHER‘s Oppression EP serves as the follow-up to their Eyes Of Blue Light full-length, self-issued earlier this year. The record, which Revolver crowned a, “thunderous, technically precise album colored with tuneful guitar harmonies and hooky death metal riffs,” chronicles the classic 1965 Frank Herbert sci-fi novel Dune. Eyes Of Blue Light was captured at Green Door Recordings in Denver by Felipe Patino (Rise Against, NOFX) and mixed and mastered in Gothenburg, Sweden by melodic death metal mastermind Fredrik Nordström (Dimmu Borgir, At The Gates, Arch Enemy, In Flames etc.) who gushed upon its completion, “NECROPANTHER is merciless with their songwriting. They’re the New Wave Of Old School Death Metal! This album is cool!”

NECROPANTHER was formed in 2014 with the simple goal of creating heavy music and playing shows that thrill audiences. The band is lead singer and guitarist Paul Anop, lead guitarist Joe Johnson, drummer Haakon Sjogren and bassist Marcus Corich.

The band has extensive experience performing and touring. Haakon Sjogren and Marcus Corich were founding members of Havok and also played together in Colorado metal project Moore. Sjogren has also handled drums for Colorado bands Frozen Eternity and Circaic. In addition to his bass playing, Corich is also an accomplished skater and has performed at the Van’s Warped Tour and other high-profile events. Anop was in Kansas powerhouse Spirit Of The Stairs as well as The Empress and Whalefalls while Johnson also played in Moore, as well as the metal fusion project Wild Game. Prior to moving to Colorado, he played and toured with the Philadelphia-based power metal band Shadowdance and NWOBHM band Wastoid. He has also appeared in a video for the famed shredder The Great Kat.