NECROPANTHER: Colorado Metal Legion To Unleash Eyes Of Blue Light Full-Length Next Month; Album Chronicles Classic Frank Herbert Sci-Fi Novel Dune + New Track Streaming


Stream / Share NECROPANTHER’s “Imperium Overture” at

Colorado-based metal legion NECROPANTHER will unleash the seething sounds of the Eyes Of Blue Light full-length next month.

Eyes Of Blue Light was captured at Green Door Recordings in Denver by Felipe Patino (Rise Against, NOFX) and mixed and mastered in Gothenburg, Sweden by melodic death metal mastermind Fredrik Nordström (Dimmu Borgir, At The Gates, Arch Enemy, In Flames etc.) who gushed upon the record’s completion, “NECROPANTHER is merciless with their songwriting. They’re the New Wave Of Old School Death Metal! This album is cool!” The twelve-track album chronicles the classic 1965 Frank Herbert sci-fi novel Dune. Set in the distant future amidst a feudal interstellar society in which noble houses, in control of individual planets, owe allegiance to the Padishah Emperor, Dune tells the story of young Paul Atreides, whose family accepts the stewardship of the desert planet Arrakis. As this planet is the only source of the oracular spice mélange, the most important and valuable substance in the universe, control of Arrakis is a coveted–and dangerous–undertaking. The story explores the multi-layered interactions of politics, religion, ecology, technology, and human emotion, as the factions of the empire confront each other in a struggle for the control of Arrakis and its spice.

Issues NECROPANTHER vocalist/guitarist Paul Anop record and concept: “We’re proud that this album showcases the diverse songwriting abilities of everyone in the band. When we went for a more melodic project, we knew that Nordström was the perfect person to bring it into focus, and we got exactly what we wanted.”

Eyes Of Blue Light will be self-released on February 23rd with preorders available in the coming weeks. In the meantime, sample opening track “Imperium Overture,” below.

NECROPANTHER will play a handful of shows in the coming months including a special special record release show on February 24th with more live dates in the plotting stages. See all confirmed dates below.

1/19/2018 Streets Of London Pub – Denver, CO w/ Bodies We’ve Buried, Morgue Whore
2/24/2018 Hi-Dive – Denver, CO w/ Munsens, Abrams * NECROPANTHER Record Release Show
3/17/2018 Herman’s Hideaway – Denver, CO w/ Doyle, MF Ruckus, Lotus Gait, Radio Scarlet
3/30/2018 lbow Room – Wichita, KS

6/30/2018 Electric Funeral Fest III @ 3 Kings Tavern – Denver, CO

Eyes Of Blue Light Track Listing:
1. Imperium Overture
2. Good As Dead
3. Gom Jabbar
4. Kiss Of Darkness
5. Hunter Seeker
6. Shai-Hulud
7. Weirding Way
8. Fedaykin
9. Water Of Life
10. House Atomics
11. Feyd-Rautha
12. Strange Gods

NECROPANTHER was forged in 2014 with the simple goal of creating heavy music and playing shows that thrill audiences. The band is vocalist/guitarist Paul Anop, lead guitarist Joe Johnson, drummer Haakon Sjogren, and bassist Marcus Corich. Together they’ve quickly become a favorite in the highly competitive Denver metal scene with their precision, speed, and short, hook-laden songs. NECROPANTHER was included in the 2016 year-end Top 10 Denver Metal Bands by the Denver Westword alongside with Khemmis, Dreadnought and Blood Incantation and was selected by the Denver Post for the 2017 Underground Music Showcase (UMS).

The band has extensive experience performing and touring. Haakon Sjogren and Marcus Corich were founding members of Havok and also played together in Colorado metal project Moore. Sjogren has also handled drums for Colorado bands Frozen Eternity and Circaic. In addition to his bass playing, Corich is also an accomplished skater and has performed at the Van’s Warped Tour and other high-profile events. Anop was in Kansas powerhouse Spirit Of The Stairs as well as The Empress and Whalefalls while Johnson also played in Moore, as well as the metal fusion project Wild Game. Prior to moving to Colorado, he played and toured with the Philadelphia-based power metal band Shadowdance and NWOBHM band Wastoid. He has also appeared in a video for the famed shredder The Great Kat.

The band’s eponymous debut (2016), an homage to the classic movie The Terminator, was recorded at Green Door in Denver, mixed by Eric Rutan at Mana Studio (Cannibal Corpse, Goatwhore etc.) and mastered by Alan Douches at West West Side Music (Cannabis Corpse, Converge, Torche, Tombs etc.).

COVER Necropanther - Eyes of Blue Light 13_ RGB (2)