NECK OF THE WOODS: Vancouver Progressive Death Act To Release The Passenger Full-Length In September; “Bottom Feeder” Streaming At Decibel Magazine

NECK OF THE WOODS_160312_0191v2_web [photo by Christopher McKenny][photo by Christopher McKenny]

Vancouver, British Columbia-based NECK OF THE WOODS has completed their debut album, The Passenger, capturing the band’s crushing blend of progressive, death-inspired, technical, and groove-laden metal through nine engaging tracks.

The Passenger will see release through Basick Records in mid-September, and an early dose of the record has been issued through a Decibel Magazine premiere of the lead track, “Bottom Feeder.” Delivered through an animated art video, the band describes the premise of “Bottom Feeder” as, “Recognizing recurring patterns in relationships that lead to imminent failure and learning to break free from these tropes.”

Issues Decibel with the track premiere, “Progressive metal outfit NECK OF THE WOODS have combined deep grooves, technicality and progressive elements and merged them with death metal on their upcoming debut release, The Passenger.”

Get your first dose of NECK OF THE WOODS’ The Passenger and stream “Bottom Feeder” via Decibel Magazine RIGHT HERE.

The Passenger will see digital release via Basick Records and CD release through the band on September 15th. The album’s artwork and track listing have been posted; stand by for additional audio samples, preorders, and more.


The Passenger Track Listing:
1. Bottom Feeder
2. Nailbiter
3. White Coats
4. Open Water
5. You’ll Always Look The Same To Me
6. Face Of The Villain
7. Drift
8. Foothills
9. Before I Rest

NECK OF THE WOODS will advance The Passenger with regional performances throughout the summer months, with several shows already booked for July and August including providing main support for Every Time I Die, a set at Loud As Hell Metal Fest, and a month-long, cross-Canada tour which will be announced in the days ahead.

7/21/2017 Logan’s Pub – Victoria, BC
7/22/2017 The Cambie – Nanaimo, BC
8/02/2017 The Rickshaw – Vancouver, BC w/ Every Time I Die
8/05/2017 Drumheller Stampede & Agriculture Society – Drumheller, AB @ Loud As Hell Metal Fest

Formed in early 2014, NECK OF THE WOODS‘ exhilarating brand of progressive metal and charged live shows have quickly earned them a reputation as one of the most exciting acts to emerge from Vancouver’s metal scene. Drawing comparisons to the likes of Misery Signals, Opeth, Darkest Hour, and more, NECK OF THE WOODS cites some of their primary influences as, Between The Buried And Me, Converge, Rush, Misery Signals, Gojira, Every Time I Die, and The Dillinger Escape Plan.

The group’s complex and dynamic sound along with frontman Jeff Radomsky’s resonating live performance helped the band quickly rise to prominence, resulting in the band representing Vancouver in the Wacken Metal Battle Finals in Toronto mere months after their first show. In May 2015, NECK OF THE WOODS released their blistering debut EP, with significant critical acclaim coming from as far afield as Denmark. Summer 2016 will see them accompany metalcore legends Misery Signals on the Canadian leg of their 2016 tour as well as embarking on their very own tour of Western Canada.

Their debut album The Passenger was recorded at Rain City Recorders by Stu McKillop, produced by Stu McKillop and the band, with art direction by vocalist Jeff Radomsky and layout design by Kevin Moore at Soft Surrogate. The release of their new album will see NECK OF THE WOODS further entrench the already significant impact they have had on Canada’s metal scene.

NECK OF THE WOODS has toured with Misery Signals and others, and has shared the stage with the likes of Converge, Wolves In The Throne Room, Devin Townsend, The Faceless, Rings Of Saturn, Archspire, Cattle Decapitation, Fallujah, Havok, Wretched, King Parrot, Vatnet Viskar, Anciients, and many others. The band has played at Sled Island Music & Arts Festival, Loud As Hell Metalfest, Armstrong Metalfest, Calgary Metalfest, The Summer Slaughter Tour, and much more.

Dave Carr – Guitar
Travis Hein – Guitar
Jordan Kemp – Bass
Jeremy Gilmartin – Drums
Jeff Radomsky – Vocals