MÖRGLBL: MetalSucks Streams Seventh Album From French Prog-Jazz Metal Trio; The Story Of Scott Rötti Out Friday Via Laser’s Edge Imprint Free Electric Sound

[photo by Alexandre Coesnon]

MetalSucks is now streaming the entire seventh full-length release from long-running French trio, MÖRGLBL. The immense The Story Of Scott Rötti delivers an entire hour of the band’s unique take on instrumental, progressive/jazz metal fusion and is set to see release this Friday through Laser’s Edge imprint Free Electric Sound.

Often described as Primus meets Steve Vai or The Beatles meet Pantera, MÖRGLBL‘s output veers toward the crazy, mixing substantial metal riffs with subtle jazz harmonies, deep pocket grooves, and their trademark goofball humor. Through two decades of performing and touring internationally and reaping well-earned critical acclaim from journalists around the globe on their six full-length albums, MÖRGLBL is an incredibly unique and creative musical force which transcends genre barriers and commands the attention of anybody into forward-thinking music with a lighthearted appeal.

MÖRGLBL‘s The Story Of Scott Rötti was recorded at The Beat Factory during the Summer of 2018, mixed by Enzo D’Agostino at Elia Studio, mastered by Mobo at Conkrete Studio, and completed with artwork by Pierre Bernard and Peter Puke.

With their advance stream of the album, MetalSucks offers in part, “Prog and jazz-inclined metalheads oughtta get a ton of enjoyment from this record: fans of Cynic, Scale the Summit, Trioscapes, and T.R.A.M., we’re looking at you. It needn’t stop there, though; anyone who has any kind of appreciation for musicianship should dig the crap of these guys, and what’s most impressive of all is that their songs are memorable and approachable even for those who simply want to bop their head to the beat. MÖRGLBL possess the full package, a trait that’s growing ever more rare in a musical landscape divided between technicality on one end of the spectrum and pop songwriting on the other.”

Hear MÖRGLBL’s The Story Of Scott Rötti early only through MetalSucks at THIS LOCATION.

MÖRGLBL‘s The Story Of Scott Rötti will see release on CD and all digital platforms through Free Electric Sound this Friday, February 1st. Preorder the album at Bandcamp RIGHT HERE and through all other digital outlets, and see the “Anarchytektür” video HERE.

Having celebrated their 20th anniversary in 2018, MÖRGLBL has big plans for the new year in support of the new album. Watch for new tour dates to be announced shortly.

Led by guitarist Christophe Godin and bassist Ivan Rougny, MÖRGLBL gained an international following with the release of their first two albums in 1997 and 1998. Years of constant touring required the band take a break. By 2007 MÖRGLBL released Grötesk which drove their popularity all over the globe – particularly in the US – and was invited to perform at Europe’s famous Frank Zappa tribute festival, Zappanale.

MÖRGLBL shifted in late 2007, when drummer Aurélien Ouzoulias joined the band and kicked them into high gear, ultimately resulting in 2009’s highly acclaimed Jazz For The Deaf. 2008 saw MÖRGLBL become the smash surprise of NEARfest X, America’s largest progressive rock music festival, where the stunned audience gave a standing ovation and cheered through a double encore. Intensive touring throughout Europe, Russia, China, and the US followed right through 2012’s Brutal Romance album. Along the way, they shared the stage with the likes of Liquid Tension Experiment, Panzerballet, Freak Kitchen, Echoline, and Umphrey’s McGee.

Three years since the 2015 Free Electric Sound release of Tea Time For Pünks and having performed more than one hundred shows all around the world, MÖRGLBL celebrated twenty years of rocking the planet with their progressive jazz metal in 2018. A twentieth anniversary live DVD has been recorded and is pending release in 2019. While awaiting the DVD’s release, and while continuing to tour in support of Tea Time For Pünks, the band composed and recorded their seventh album, The Story Of Scott Rötti. With eleven new songs, the album showcases the band’s most achieved material to date, basing all the ingredients that have made the trio one of the most exciting combos of the genre.