MIDAS FALL: Progressive Post-Rock Outfit To Release Cold Waves Divide Us Full-Length This March Via Monotreme Records; New Video/Single Now Playing + Preorders Available

Photo by Stephen Alexander

Scottish alt/post/progressive rock outfit MIDAS FALL will release their fifth studio album, Cold Waves Divide Us, on March 8th, 2024 worldwide via Monotreme Records. In advance of the release, the trio has unveiled a single and accompanying video for the record’s title track.

For the follow-up to their critically lauded, 2018-released full-length, Evaporate, founding MIDAS FALL members Elizabeth Heaton and Rowan Burn are joined by Michael Hamilton. Cold Waves Divide Us sees the band at their most confidently visceral, each song moving beautifully between quiet and loud, gentle and crushing. “This album is a heavier and bigger experience than the last album,” notes Heaton. “We kept the atmospheric strings and ‘80s synths of Evaporate but wanted to add heavier layered elements, to represent more what we sound like live.”

On the record’s title track, the music builds slowly as Heaton’s voice floats gracefully above the growing force beneath it, against a racing visual landscape of “nature, but not-quite-as-we-know-it.” The track is accompanied by a dark sci-fi video created by Sharon Ritossa and Gabriele Ottino of Riot Studio.

According to Ottino, “We aimed to imbue this music video with the ambiance of a dystopian jungle. Nature is genetically altered by the virus of a hyper capitalist and hyper productive civilization, where technology begins to gain consciousness. Instead of annihilating humans and plants, it opts to adapt and modify itself to exist within the bodies and limbs of those who have survived Earth’s catastrophes. No one perishes, no one lives as they did before; everything undergoes transformation.

“The technique used is a mixed technique, combining footage, 3D, pure generative, and they were edited to create a narrative foundation. The next step involved passing various sections of the video through the AI Stable Diffusion tool to create surreal and unique environments, suggestions, forms, and textures.”

Watch MIDAS FALL’s “Cold Waves Divide Us” video at THIS LOCATION.

Cold Waves Divide Us will be released on CD and digital formats as well as limited edition 180g vinyl (150 Black, 350 Clear w/ Orange/Black Splatter). The first fifty physical preorders from the Monotreme Records webshop will also receive a limited edition printed A5 booklet with images of handwritten lyrics drafts and drawings from Elizabeth Heaton.

Find preorders at THIS LOCATION.

Cold Waves Divide Us Track Listing:

    1. In The Morning We’ll Be Someone Else
    2. I Am Wrong
    3. Salt
    4. In This Avalanche
    5. Point Of Diminishing Return
    6. Monsters
    7. Atrophy
    8. Cold Waves Divide Us
    9. Little Wooden Boxes
    10. Mute

12/03/2023 The Prog Before Christmas – Glasgow, UK
4/16/2024 Sunny Red Club – Munich, DE
4/17/2024 Polimagie Festival – Dresden, DE
4/18/2024 Kohi – Karlsruhe DE
4/19/2024 Stummsche Reithalle – Neunkirchen, DE
4/20/2024 Pop Salon Festival – Osnabrück, DE
5/26/2024 Portals Festival, EartH – London, UK

Elizabeth Heaton – vocals, guitars, strings, synths, piano, drums
Rowan Burn – guitars, synths, piano, drums
Michael Hamilton – bass, synths, drums

Single Artwork