LUSTMORD & Various Artists: Steve Von Till’s Interpretation Of “Testament” Now Playing As The Others [Lustmord Deconstructed] Nears Release Via Pelagic Records

Photo by Tracey Roberts

Pelagic Records will commemorate the work of electronic music pioneer LUSTMORD by releasing a special box set titled The Other. Set for release this April, the set is based around LUSTMORD’s tenth studio album [ O T H E R ], originally released in 2008. Next to this seminal mid-career opus, the box set contains the two remix albums Beyond and The Dark Places Of The Earth, as well as The Others [Lustmord Deconstructed], a new 3xLP album of LUSTMORD tracks reinterpreted by some of the spearheads of the contemporary heavy music scene – and beyond: Ulver, Enslaved, Godflesh, Zola Jesus, Bohren & Der Club Of Gore, Steve Von Till, Ihsahn, Jaye Jayle, Jo Quail, Spotlights, Katatonia’s Jonas Renkse, Alexander Hacke’s [Einstürzende Neubauten] new band hackedepiciotto, as well as fellow Pelagic artists Mono, The Ocean, Årabrot, and Crown.

Today sees the release of the offering’s fourth single with “Testament.” In “Testament” we hear the rumbles of a demonic blacksmith stirring. Steve Von Till, best known as the guitarist and vocalist of the band Neurosis, takes this Demigod of armor and weaponry and makes it put on flesh and strut. Beginning with the rattling breath and feedback of the approaching giant, the song suddenly swaggers out into the open, full of dark funk; it whines and wails, shooting off trails of curdling sirens into the atmosphere.⁠

Stream Steve Von Till’s “Testament” HERE.

Stream Godflesh’s interpretation of “Ashen” HERE, Bohren & Der Club Of Gore’s rendition of “Plateau” HERE and Ihsahn’s version of “Dark Awakening” HERE.

The Others [Lustmord Deconstructed] will see release on CD, LP, vinyl, and digital formats on April 1st. Find preorders at THIS LOCATION.

The Others [Lustmord Deconstructed] is a celebration of the fearless attitude of being different and the expression of unique ideas which have never existed before. LUSTMORD is the artistic moniker of Brian Williams. Born in North Wales, he started his musical career in 1980 and soon became a pioneer in the early industrial music scene in the UK. He was a former member of SPK during arguably their most crucial era and went on to work with Throbbing Gristle members Chris Carter and Cosey Fanni Tutti as well as appearing on early albums by Current 93, Nurse With Wound and others. After relocating to Los Angeles in 1993, Williams worked on dozens of motion picture soundtracks including The Crow, Underworld, and Paul Schrader’s First Reformed. Additionally, he created several video game soundtracks, television scores, and solo albums. To this day, LUSTMORD is actively recording and releasing music and is considered to be the founding father of the dark ambient music genre.

[ O T H E R ] was originally released by independent record label Hydra Head Records, founded by Isis frontman Aaron Turner. This album shows LUSTMORD at his most characteristic, and the icy, ominous guitar playing of Adam Jones (Tool), King Buzzo (The Melvins), and Aaron Turner (Isis) resonates perfectly within the deep soundscapes that make up this frightening yet inspiring journey. Over thirteen years after the release of [ O T H E R ], Pelagic Records has gathered sixteen bands and solo artists to record their own unique takes on tracks from the [ O T H E R ] sessions. The result is an album that is more than a compilation, and more than the sum of its parts; covering a wide range of musical niches and directions, but sharing the same underlying mood and vibe defined by LUSTMORD’s timeless soundscapes: from the ambient solo performances provided by Ihsahn, Enslaved, or Jonas Renkse to the subdued voice of Zola Jesus woven into LUSTMORD’s somber fabric to the industrial carnage that is Godflesh’s version of “Ashen.

What demonstrates the profound influence of LUSTMORD on this contemporary music underground showcased here is that artists from disparate ends of the sonic spectrum all feel inspired to explore the essence of his idiosyncratic sounds within their own realm: experimental electronica icons Ulver excel on a stunning, hazy rendition of “Godeater,” while Japanese post-rock act Mono delivers a crushing version of “Er Eb Os,” and The Ocean takes us on a cathartically heavy mind trip back to our “Primal [State Of Being].” In the end, each of these sixteen artists delivers an interpretation that pays the deepest respect to this pivotal artist, while also standing out as a new track of its own.

The Others [Lustmord Deconstructed] Track Listing:

  1. Enslaved – Eon
  2. Mono – Er Eb Os
  3. Ihsahn – Dark Awakening
  4. Jo Quail – Prime
  5. Bohren & Der Club of Gore – Plateau
  6. hackedpiciotto – Trinity Past
  7. Ulver – Godeater
  8. Jonas Renkse – Er Eb Os
  9. Zola Jesus – Prime
  10. Spotlights – Of Eons
  11. The Ocean – Primal [State of Being]
  12. Crown – Element
  13. Jaye Jayle – Er Eb Os
  14. Godflesh – Ashen
  15. Steve von Till a.k.a. Harvestman – Testament
  16. Årabrot – The Last Days