KÓLGA: Blackened Surf Rock Collective Featuring Current / Former Members Of Dead To A Dying World, Sabbath Assembly, Wrekmeister Harmonies, And More To Release Black Tides Full-Length On March 29th

Photo by Kathleen Kennedy Magruder

Blackened surf rock/nautical horror collective KÓLGA will unleash their Black Tides full-length on March 29th via Otitis Media Records.

Harken and remember! Aquatic thunder and reverberations of a droning, eldritch phosphorescence beguile the senses. Staccato strings accentuate rhythmic inundations that harken back to a primal rock and roll essence. Imbued throughout with a darkly absurdist wit and elements of black metal, behold KÓLGA!

Formed in 2018 by the sentient mutated husks of subgenii members of Dead To A Dying World, Spazm 151, Akkolyte, Cleric, Tyrannosorceress, Damage Case, Sabbath Assembly, Wrekmeister Harmonies, Unconscious Collective, and other innumerable projects of varying clandestine popularities, KÓLGA has forged from the immense cataclysmic pressures of the lower depths a new genre for all the world to witness and tremble: blackened surf rock.

In advance of the release of Black Tides, the band has unleashed opening track “Space Beach Massacre” for public appreciation.

Comments lead guitarist/vocalist Jason Mullins, “SCREAMS from the ultra-terrestrial void punctuate this noctuary of insectral threnodies! THRILL to the spine-tingling sounds of alien emissaries from beyond the grave as they unleash a plutonic barrage of UNHOLY rhapsody on the hapless denizens of planet Earth in Spectra-sonic 4-D!”

Bask in the mutant melodies of KÓLGA’s “Space Beach Massacre” at THIS LOCATION.

KÓLGA’s Black Tides was engineered and produced by Billy Anderson, mastered by Justin Weiss, and comes swathed in the cover artwork of Joseph Harmon. The record will be released on CD, LP, and digital formats.

Find exclusive Wax Mage vinyl only available at the Otitis Media Records webshop HERE. Find CD, digital, and assorted vinyl preorders at the KÓLGA Bandcamp page HERE.

Black Tides Track Listing:

  1. Space Beach Massacre
  2. Squall Of Cthulhu
  3. Tethys
  4. Riptide
  5. Endless Bummer
  6. Is This Real?
  7. The Kraken

Jason Mullins – lead guitar, vocals, theremin, claps
James Magruder – guitar, castanets, auxiliary waterphone, claps
Jacob Price – synthesizer, organ, claps
Zach Jobin – drums, gongs, glockenspiel, guiro, tambourine, samples, claps
Aaron Gonzalez – bass guitar, gongs, waterphone, claps