IMPENDING DOOM To Release Hellbent EP January 12th, 2022 Via MNRK Heavy; “Satanic Panic” Now Playing + Preorders Available

Photo by Luke Cooper

Long-running deathcore outfit IMPENDING DOOM will release their new EP, Hellbent, on January 12th, 2022 via MNRK Heavy, today unveiling its first single.

Hellbent boasts the enduring trio who formed the creative core of IMPENDING DOOM in Riverside, California: vocalist Brook Reeves, guitarist Manny Contreras, and bassist David Sittig. Recorded with engineer Joseph Calleiro at Dungeon by the Sea in Los Angeles and mixed by longtime band collaborator Will Putney (Knocked Loose, The Ghost Inside, Thy Art Is Murder), the EP is a blistering five-song blast of readily identifiable IMPENDING DOOM brutality, with just enough of a modern flourish. As reliably as ever, the band endeavor to bring woe with crushing heaviness, sick death metal and grindcore riffage, impossibly guttural growls, and steadfast reverence for God. “Satanic Panic,” “New World Horror,” “Culture Of Death,” “I Must End,” and the title track are punishingly incisive entries into the band’s esteemed canon, which stretches back to their 2005 demo.

The new EP arrives adorned with an arresting cover courtesy of Jim Pavelec, an illustrator specializing in the occult, sci-fi, horror, and fantasy, including pieces for classic RPG Dungeons & Dragons. “We’ve never done an EP before this, and we spent a lot of time writing the music on Hellbent,” Sittig explains. “We don’t traditionally have many surprises with the art, but we wanted to try something different. We’ve used the same couple of guys to create art for us. But Jim had created this piece already, and we loved it so much that we reached out to him. He tweaked a few things for us, but he first made it on his own.”

In advance of the EP’s release, today the band unveils a video for first single, “Satanic Panic.” Comments Reeves, “‘Satanic Panic’ is a song about the occult and ritual abuse reaching to the elite but in the end God has the final judgement.”

View IMPENDING DOOM’s “Satanic Panic” video at THIS LOCATION.

Hellbent will be released on CD, LP, cassette, and digitally. Find preorders at THIS LOCATION.

Additionally, the band will be announcing a slew of upcoming live dates in the coming days in support of Hellbent. Stay alert.

Hellbent EP Track Listing:

  1. Satanic Panic
  2. New World Horror
  3. Culture Of Death
  4. Hellbent
  5. I Must End

The Sin And Doom Of Godless Men, IMPENDING DOOM‘s blissfully devastating 2005 demo, was shocking in its urgent immediacy and its unashamed outspokenness. But that demo was merely a step toward the total devastation that was their debut album, Nailed. Dead. Risen. (2007), which shook the proverbial Earth with its uncompromising vision of what they had transfigured with elements of death metal, grind, and hardcore.

The series of increasingly diverse and intense releases that followed never compromised, always challenging, and pushing the limits of the genre, with the likes of The Serpent Servant (2009), There Will Be Violence (2010), Baptized In Filth (2012), Death Will Reign (2013), and the back-to-basics bludgeoning of The Sin And Doom, Vol. II (2018) appealing to the faithful and faithless alike. Combining crushing riffs and an unashamed point of view, each of their half dozen albums demonstrate the power of outspoken deathcore devastation. IMPENDING DOOM is clearly here to stay.

Brook Reeves – vocals
Manny Contreras – guitar
David Sittig – bass