I AM: Texas Metal/Hardcore Outfit To Release Life Through Torment In February; MetalSucks Premieres “Sacred Cries” + Preorders Posted

i-am-7-photo-by-zoe-dillman[photo by Zoe Dillman]

Dallas, Texas-based brutal metallic hardcore quintet I AM is preparing to unleash the pulverizing juggernaut that is their Life Through Torment debut album in late February. An early preview of the album’s crushing “Sacred Cries” is now playing through an exclusive premiere at MetalSucks, as the band issues preorders for the record.

Following a two-year void since the early 2015 release of their Memento Mori debut EP, I AM now prepares to inundate the masses with their maiden full-length, Life Through Torment. An unquestionably brutalizing, by-the-throat album without a second of filler, consuming twenty-eight minutes through ten unrelenting tracks, Life Through Torment was recorded, produced, and mixed by Ryan Harvey at Red Oak Collective, mastered by Jacob Pouttu, and bears artwork by Grayson Altom and design by Benjamin Hoagland.

MetalSucks has issued the third track from Life Through Torment, “Sacred Cries,” proclaiming alongside the premiere, “Sometimes you just need breakdowns. Big, fat, burly ones that kick you in the nuts, the stomach and the teeth all at the same time… they speed things up to a classic death metal clip for the song’s chorus, and a Spartan but effective mid-song guitar solo hits the spot just right. It’s the kind of song that’s going to have moshpits going absolutely fucking haywire once this band gets out on the road in a big way.”

Unload I AM’s “Sacred Cries” only at MetalSucks RIGHT HERE.

I AM will independently release Life Through Torment on CD and digital formats on February 10th; an arsenal of purchase options including merch bundles are available HERE.

Stay tuned for an official video, additional audio samples, and more preceding the release of Life Through Torment. I AM has booked a hometown record release show in Dallas on February 11th, and a two-week US tour with Dealey Plaza and Face Your Maker in support of the album for late February and early March is just days from announcement, with additional heavy touring to take place across the country throughout 2017.

I AM Live:
2/11/2017 The Prophet Bar – Dallas, TX *Record Release Show w/ Salt, Unity, Truetemper, more [info]


Life Through Torment Track Listing:
1. Life Through Torment
2. Face Of Death
3. Sacred Cries
4. C.O.S.L.
5. SUI
6. Entomb Me
7. Morality Hangs
8. Worndead
9. Stones
10. Forgive Me

Within the down-tuned demolition I AM produces, one is beaten down by brutal 1990s metalcore in the tradition of Disembodied and Chokehold, and modern acts The Acacia Strain, Xibalba, and Harm’s Way, as blasting elements of groove-soaked death metal in the vein of Skinless and Dying Fetus trample over the carnage. Since forming in 2010, I AM has supported the likes of Kublai Khan, Bury Your Dead, Fit For An Autopsy, Knocked Loose, and No Zodiac, has performed at South By So What Fest and more, and has toured across regions of the US multiple times over the past three years with the likes of Varials, Insvrgence, 2×4, in addition to several headlining runs, inciting relentless pits everywhere they play.

Andrew Hileman – Vocals
Tom Reyes – Guitar
Jayson Braffett – Guitar
Austin Loughmiller – Bass
Ian Scott – Drums