HELL TO PAY: Philadelphia Metallic Hardcore Act To Release Bliss Debut LP Through GTR Records; Track Streaming At Cvlt Nation

[photo by Mike Russel]

Philadelphia-based HELL TO PAY has completed their debut LP, Bliss. As the album is now confirmed to be released through GTR Records in mid-March, the lead single, “Bleed To Me,” has been premiered at Cvlt Nation.

Formed in 2014, HELL TO PAY is a four-piece metallic hardcore outfit, containing within its ranks members of Jesus Piece and others from across the Philadelphia and Lehigh Valley area. Here they incorporate elements of hardcore punk and death metal to form a noise-filled sound reminiscent of their grind and crust forefathers. Following a nearly four-year void since the outfit released their first two short releases in their year of creation, 2018 sees HELL TO PAY set to arise with Bliss, their dominating debut full-length album.

Bliss unloads a torrent of merciless, metallic wrath with eight new tracks packed into a half-hour-long assault. The deafening low-end crunch of the famed Stockholm sound Dismember and Entombed helped define seamlessly meshed with elements brutalizing ’90s death/grind purveyors citing carcass, Brutal Truth are delivered in a noise-soaked, modernized style of intensity in HELL TO PAY‘s delivery, which was recorded and mixed at Captured Studios by Jared Stimpfl (Jesus Piece, Tile), mastered by Arthur Rizk (Power Trip, Crypt Sermon), and completed with artwork by Dom Pabon. Dave Updike of Jesus Piece also helped in the creation of noise textures throughout the record.

Advancing the album’s release, the third song from Bliss, “Bleed To Me,” has been debuted through Cvlt Nation, who praises, “the way the music pairs with the thought-provoking words to paint a portrait of reality that we all need to look examine carefully. Bliss should be played LOUD and listened to on repeat so that it gets into your bones and braincells.”

Offers vocalist Calin Yenser of the track, “‘Bleed To Me’ speaks on social responsibility and karmic debt. Complacency is status quo, and this is a melodramatic comment on that. In all there is give and take. in suffering there is reward. Free will is just as crucial a tool in leveling the karmic scale as it was in inbalancing it.”

Hear HELL TO PAY’s “Bleed To Me” RIGHT HERE.

Bliss will see digital and LP release through GTR Records on March 16th; preorder options have been posted HERE.

Watch for additional songs, tour dates, and more to be issued in the weeks ahead.

Bliss Track Listing:
1. Starve
2. Thrive
3. Bleed To Me
4. Static
5. Runaway
6. Void
7. Second Seal
8. Smear
9. Bliss

Calin Yenser – vocals
Aaron Heard – bass
John DiStefano – guitar
Keith Goldoni – drums