GRIDFAILURE And FEEL HAPPINESS To Release Split EP In September; New Tracks Now Streaming

Solo experimental outfits GRIDFAILURE and FEEL HAPPINESS have completed an instrumental split EP which they’ll release independently in September. Along with the album info, artwork, and preorders, a new track from each artist is now playing.

GRIDFAILURE‘s tracks were recorded and mixed at The Compound in Rockland County, New York by the outfit’s David Brenner, who also designed the album’s cover art, and the FEEL HAPPINESS material recorded and mixed by Lane Oliver at the Dreadroom in Arlington, Texas. The record was mastered by Dan Emery at Black Matter Mastering (Kool Keith, Dwarves, Krieg).

Stream GRIDFAILURE’s “This Liquefaction” HERE and FEEL HAPPINESS’ “God Bless You All On The Earth” HERE.

The GRIDFAILURE / FEEL HAPPINESS split will see digital release through the act’s respective Bandcamp pages on Friday, September 13th. Find preorders at GRIDFAILURE‘s page HERE and FEEL HAPPINESS’ page HERE.

1. This Liquefaction [GRIDFAILURE]
2. Cryomechanical [GRIDFAILURE]
3. Swarming [GRIDFAILURE]
4. Wetworkers Local 845 [GRIDFAILURE]
5. God Bless You All On The Earth [FEEL HAPPINESS]
6. I’ve Cut Your Armies Down And Torn Your Heart [FEEL HAPPINESS]
7. All You Are Is Meat [FEEL HAPPINESS]

Watch for further audio samples from the split to be released in the coming weeks. Additional titles from each act are also in the works.

With up to ten titles seeing release in 2019 alone, New York City-area’s GRIDFAILURE delivers four new tracks in less than sixteen minutes, offering some of the outfit’s most direct/driving songs to date. While void of lyrics, vocals, or samples, multiple demoralizing personalities of the outfit show through. Natural disasters and dystopian wastelands are represented in “This Liquefaction” and “Cryomechanical” while “Swarming” delves into the most bizarre realms of horror and terror, and closer “Wetworkers Local 845” simply exposes the demented core of the project. The tormented inner duality lies beneath the surface of each track, the act’s lone hostile alchemist David Brenner performing effects-soaked guitars, bass, acoustic and electric drums/drum machines, contact mic experimentation, keys, synth, and more, all swirling with turbulent nature field recordings. Fans of dark ambient, harsh noise, dark hardcore, and horror/suspense cinema are advised to fall into the void.

Having formed in recent months, launching with the release of a debut EP, FEEL HAPPINESS offers three tracks of slow-burning, apocalyptic flair on the split. The North Texas solo act of one Lane Oliver subjects the listener to explosive, unsettling compositions comprised of raw, droning guitars, moody keys, wailing violins, and mangled field recordings. From drone metal meditation on environmental collapse (“God Bless You All On The Earth”), to pagan horror movie soundtrack doom (“I’ve Cut Your Armies Down And Torn Your Heart”), to melancholic introspection (“All You Are Is Meat”), there’s no escape from the dark and dreary here. Victoria Rose supplies guest keys and violins on “I’ve Cut Your Armies Down And Torn Your Heart.” Fans of Soundtracks For The Blind-era Swans and Sunn O))) should take note.

9/01/2019 Saint Vitus Bar – Brooklyn, NY w/ meth., Horse Torso [info]