GRAVEN: Heirs Of Discord To See November Release; Members Of Swarm Of The Lotus, Burnt By The Sun, Human Remains, Gridlink Unite On New EP

Extreme metal outfit GRAVEN – formed by members of Swarm Of The Lotus – makes its destructive return in 2018, ending a nearly five-year hiatus with the recently-completed new EP, Heirs Of Discord. With members currently residing in Arizona, Maryland, New Jersey, and Florida, the band recorded Heirs Of Discord in multiple studios over nearly an entire year, and the results are nothing short of devastating. Now confirmed for early November release, the EP’s artwork, track listing, and more have been issued.

GRAVEN initiated the recording sessions for Heirs Of Discord in late 2017 and recorded in waves in multiple studios throughout the first half of 2018. The record features five original tracks as well as a cover of “Human” from Human Remains’ seminal album Using Sickness As A Hero. With a scathing, grinding, pulsating attack, GRAVEN explodes with unhinged wrath and delivers a monstrous sounding release. The blasting grooves and volatility that drew such critical acclaim to Swarm Of The Lotus is here revisited and magnified to explosive new levels, delivered with top-tier production values.

Offers Pete Maturi, “It was ridiculous to mix this thing because of all the multiple studios, producers, and steps. By the end we were all fried, but we knew we had something awesome on our hands. We slaved over this thing, and we owe Art Paiz at Mana Recording everything for making it sound the way it does.”

Heirs Of Discord will see release on November 2nd through the band’s own independent imprint, Negative Grade Records. The record will be released through all digital platforms, as well as an extremely short run of lathe-cut vinyl versions of the album for diehard fans. A wide variety of preorder options and limited merch bundles will be available. Watch for preorders, audio samples, and more to be issued in the days ahead.

Heirs Of Discord Track Listing:
1. A Failed Mask
2. I Dreamt You Were Dead
3. To Ravage And Absolve
4. Thieves Of Rotted Ilk
5. Backwards To Oblivion
6. Human (Human Remains cover)

Following the disbanding of Swarm Of The Lotus in 2010, three of its members established GRAVEN, reworking the lineup and moving forward with a more extreme approach, bridging the crushing sludge/metallic hardcore explosiveness of the former act with more guttural death, grind, and doom devastation. GRAVEN began to play live in various lineup incarnations in 2011, and self-released their first EP, The Filth Will Cleanse, in November 2012. They recorded two songs for a three-way split release with Burn Everything and Reckoner for Dullest Records which was released in May of 2014, however GRAVEN went on hiatus in late 2013, leaving at least five songs on the table which were never recorded. Some of this material has been resurrected and reworked and will finally see the light of day as part of Heirs Of Discord. Additionally, Teddy Patterson (Burnt By The Sun, Human Remains, Gridlink) has joined the lineup on this EP.

The majority of Heirs Of Discord‘s vocals, all guitars, and some bass were tracked at Mana Recording Studios in St Petersburg, Florida with Engineer Art Paiz, who also handled all mixing and editing. Most of the bass was tracked at Backroom Studios in Rockaway, New Jersey with engineer Kevin Antreassian (The Dillinger Escape Plan). Most of the drums and some vocals were recorded at Pristine Audio And Video in St. Petersburg, Florida with engineer Dee Blume, and additional drums were recorded at Audioconfusion in Mesa, Arizona with engineer Jalipaz Nelson. Heirs Of Discord was then mastered by Alan Douches at West West Side Music in Hudson, New York, and completed with artwork by Unexpected Specter and layout by Nicole Maturi.

Peter Maturi – guitars/vocals
Chris Csar – drums
Jason Borowy – vocals
Teddy Patterson – bass