FUGITIVE: 20 Buck Spin To Officially Release Maniac EP From Texas Thrash Band Formed By Power Trip Guitarist; Physical Preorders Posted

photos by Will Mecca

Blake Ibanez of Power Trip returns with a new band, FUGITIVE, and their Maniac debut EP – his first output since the untimely passing of legendary Power Trip vocalist Riley Gale – delivering the aggressive pit detonation thrash he’s known for in Power Trip with an even rawer and looser ferocity.

Joined by Seth Gilmore (Skourge), Lincoln Mullins (Creeping Death), Victor Gutierrez, and Andy Messer, Ibanez and crew cohere in intensely violent crossover fashion with FUGITIVE; a product of long earned experience in the studio and on the stage. A savage death metal vocal style, like Power Trip passed through an Obituary meatgrinder, solidifies Maniac with the heaviness of a head hitting concrete. A short, sharp, shock of an EP, Maniac is a fierce introduction across its seventeen-minute runtime to a future that FUGITIVE is just beginning to write and a reminder that Texas heat remains a steadily potent force in underground metal and hardcore. The record features four original tracks, with a cover of the legendary Bathory’s “Raise The Dead” rounding out the succinctly serrated five-track debut.

Maniac was produced by Blake Ibanez, was engineered and mixed by Rubio N. with the drums engineered by Drew LeClair and additional drum production by Slade Williams, and mastered by Will Killingsworth at Dead Air. The cover art was handled by Jack Bruce with additional art assistance by Erick Cruz, the logo by Daniel Porta, and photography by Will Mecca and Sydney Lane. This is a must-hear release for fans of Power Trip, Enforced, Obituary, Iron Age, and Creeping Death.

Stream FUGITIVE’s Maniac EP now at Bandcamp HERE.

Following its surprise digital release and subsequent cassette release last year, 20 Buck Spin now presents Maniac on 12” vinyl and MCD, set for worldwide release on April 28th. Find preorders HERE.

ManiacTrack Listing:
1. The Javelin
2. Maniac
3. Hell’s Half Acre
4. Neutralized
5. Raise The Dead (Bathory cover)

FUGITIVE has been taking their ripping anthems to audiences live over the past year, and is booking new tour dates for this year. March 17th sees them taking part in the mighty LDB fest in Louisville alongside Terror, No Pressure, Knocked Loose, Drug Church, and many more over the multi-day fest. March 23rd, they play the Hell’s Heroes V Preparty in Houston with Triumph Of Death, Vio-lence, Spectral Wound, Necrofier, and more. Watch for additional dates and tour announcements to post throughout the months ahead.

3/17/2023 LDB Fest @ Triple Crown Pavilion – Louisville, KY [info]
3/23/2023 Hell’s Heroes V Preparty – White Oak Music Hall – Houston, TX [info]

Seth Gilmore – vocals
Blake Ibanez – guitar
Victor Gutierrez – guitar
Andy Messer – bass
Lincoln Mullins – drums