EN MINOR To Release Debut Full-Length This September Via Housecore Records; Revolver Streams New Single + Preorders Available

Photo by JehN.W.A.

EN MINOR will release its long-awaited debut full-length, When The Cold Truth Has Worn Its Miserable Welcome Out, this September via Housecore Records.

An experimental and eclectic musical endeavor that finds frontman Philip H. Anselmo exploring a softer, graver vocal style, EN MINOR is an honest and deliberate change of pace delivering brooding tales of pain, regret, and sorrow. At once ugly and beautiful, EN MINOR features the collective talents of Stephen Taylor (Superjoint, Philip H. Anselmo & The Illegals, Wovenhand, 16 Horsepower), Kevin Bond (Superjoint, Christ Inversion, Artimus Pyledriver et al), Jimmy Bower (Eyehategod, Down, Superjoint), Calvin and Joiner Dover (The Dover Brothers), and Steve Bernal (former first cellist in the Temple Symphony Orchestra).

In advance of its release, Revolver is currently streaming first single, “Blue.” Elaborates Anselmo, “We picked ‘Blue’ to release first because it features the whole band, as some songs don’t have percussion. Also, the title of the record, When The Cold Truth Has Worn Its Miserable Welcome Out, is from a line in the song. Very fitting and haunting.”

Adds Revolver, “Back in August of last year, we unveiled ‘On the Floor,’ the first song from the self-described ‘depression-core’ project, which finds the heralded heavy-metal vocalist – known for Pantera, Down and Superjoint, among too many other bands to list here – exploring mellower, mostly acoustic, yet still dark and heavy musical territory not far flung from the gravelly odes of Nick Cave or Tom Waits. Today, we’ve teamed with Anselmo again to premiere a new EN MINOR cut, ‘Blue,’ the stark, stirring lead single off the group’s forthcoming debut full-length, When The Cold Truth Has Worn Its Miserable Welcome Out…”

Stream EN MINOR’s “Blue” at THIS LOCATION.

EN MINOR‘s When The Cold Truth Has Worn Its Miserable Welcome Out was recorded and mixed at Anselmo’s Nodferatu’s Lair Studio on the Northshore outside of New Orleans, Louisiana and will see release in North America on September 4th via Housecore Records with Season Of Mist handling the release in Europe and Ward Records handling the release in Japan.

For physical preorders go to THIS LOCATION. For digital orders, go HERE. Fans of Nick Cave, Tom Waits, and The Smiths pay heed.

When The Cold Truth Has Worn Its Miserable Welcome Out Track Listing:
1. Mausoleums
2. Blue
3. On the Floor
4. Dead Can’t Dance
5. Love Needs Love
6. Warm Sharp Bath Sleep
7. Melancholia
8. This is Not Your Day
9. Black Mass
10. Hats Off
11. Disposable For You

EN MINOR was inadvertently in the making since Anselmo’s earliest days as a child in the French Quarter. “The initial strains – in the most primitive sense – came about when I was given my first guitar at nine-years old,” relays Anselmo. “I didn’t have the patience to learn other people’s music, so I wrote my own. And some of those early parts are still prevalent in the songs we’re working with now. Fast-forward to 1988 when I bought my first four-track recorder; those old songs took on a new life and newer songs were written. Heavy metal was at the forefront of my performance-based output, but these little four-track songs were always there.”

By 1993, Anselmo moved back to his hometown of New Orleans and his home became an instant magnet for local musicians and artists. “At ungodly hours, these old four-track songs took on an even newer life jamming with these cats. We learned a few of the songs and wrote several more, and soon we were recording under the moniker ‘Body & Blood.’ We wrote more songs, all recorded on a newer model four-track. It was fun. We did it for the vibe. And it was pleasing to break away from multi-tracking studios and heavy metal. Metal music consumed most of our time and lives. Those ‘B&B’ sessions were damned-near therapeutic.”

Without a clear plan for the band, the project remained a periodic therapy session. “We kept things simple and just jammed when everyone was home and played our recordings for friends. Then I eventually moved again, Hurricane Katrina hit, and life sent all of us in different directions.”

It was in 2012 when EN MINOR truly took shape. “[Stephen] “Schteve” [Taylor] experimenting with some vibey stuff, and soon after began recording the sessions. This led to the current incarnation of EN MINOR. Together, we reworked a few of the old four-track songs and wrote several new ones in short order. These sessions are hypnotic and pulling. And we continue to write songs suitable for this project to this day. Ugly and beautiful, EN MINOR, isn’t ‘party music.’ This is ‘kill the party music.'”

“With EN MINOR, he’s embracing a gravely vocal style of defiance and regret, singing songs from a lifetime of experience and hard lessons learned in the outlaw country tradition of Merle Haggard… The measured pace and acoustic instruments of his new project reflect a state of mind and a possible sign of maturity finally catching up with Anselmo at a time when addiction is now years behind him.” – Revolver

“…Anselmo emoted with somber grace over beautiful ballads evoking his cover of Black Sabbath’s ‘Planet Caravan’ with Pantera all the way back on Far Beyond Driven…it’s a refreshing change of pace for Anselmo after many of his heavier outings these last few years. ‘Mausoleum,’ ‘Jazz,’ and closer ‘On The Floor” all had a poignant beauty to them…” – MXDWN (Psycho Las Vegas recap)

“Phil Anselmo’s low key new acoustic project dubbed ‘depression core’ was strangely invigorating. This was one of the most chill and memorable sets of the weekend.” – Metal Injection (Psycho Las Vegas recap)

“Dressed in a suit and looking like a suave Mike Patton, Phil had the audience in the palm of his hand. We were willing to take whatever journey he wanted us on. We all knew Phil Anselmo had poetry in his heart but perhaps not to this great extent.” – Janky Smooth (Psycho Las Vegas recap)

Philip H. Anselmo – vocals, guitars, bass
Kevin Bond – acoustic, electric guitar, bass
Stephen Taylor – guitar
Calvin Dover – keys
Joiner Dover – bass
Steve Bernal – cello
Jimmy Bower – drums
Jose Manuel “Blue” Gonzalez – drums (live)
Paul Webb – guitar (live)