DIAMOND HEAD Releases Captivating New Video For “Sweet And Innocent (Lost Original Mix);” Lightning To The Nations (The White Album) [Remastered 2021] Nears Release Via Silver Lining Music

British heavy metal icons DIAMOND HEAD today unveil their video for the single “Sweet And Innocent (Lost Original Mix).” The track is taken from the band’s upcoming release, Lightning To The Nations (The White Album) [Remastered 2021], set to drop via Silver Lining Music on September 30th.

The video is a historical and fascinating watch, incorporating photos, videos, and magnificent gems from the vaults of cofounding member Brian Tatler himself. “I think it’s great for the fans to see the old photos and videos from the early ‘80s,” comments Tatler. “According to my notes, ‘Sweet And Innocent’ was written on the 18th of June 1978 and was first released on the Lightning To The Nations album in June 1980. It never had a video back in the day, so it’s great to have this now.”

Watch DIAMOND HEAD’S “Sweet And Innocent (Lost Original Mix)” at THIS LOCATION.

Few could have predicted the importance that DIAMOND HEAD’s debut album, Lightning To The Nations, would have on the heavy metal genre. “We had an undeniably unique sound,” reflects Tatler. Four young lads each with an element that, when combined, produced an alloy that was our own heavy metal sound.”

“Sweet and Innocent (Lost Original Mix)” is the second single taken from Lightning To The Nations (The White Album) [Remastered 2021], the ultimate version of this ultimate album. The release features not only the original album from 1/4 inch master tapes which Lars Ulrich helped Brian Tatler retrieve back in 1990, but also alternative mixes of classic cuts “Lightning To The Nations,” “The Prince,” “Sucking My Love,” “Am I Evil?,” and “Sweet And Innocent” never publicly released (or heard) before. There is also brand-new cover artwork based on an idea Brian Tatler had, to show a character referred to as “The Lightning God.”

The original tapes were first quite literally baked (a process which allows degraded tape to be returned to playable quality), then restored and digitized before DIAMOND HEAD frontman Rasmus “Ras” Bom Andersen remastered the tracks, ending up with a pristine edition of the original recordings and the recently discovered alternative mixes. Pure treasure for all fans of both DIAMOND HEAD and the New Wave Of British Heavy Metal, the restored masters are supplemented by a set of bonus tracks originally recorded in 1980s. Rounding-out this ultimate edition are a set of deep and detailed notes on both the era and each song by Brian Tatler.

“‘Sweet And Innocent’ has a shuffle groove and was our attempt at a hit single,” says Tatler in his notes. “It was under four-minutes long and had a big chorus. We rerecorded it about six-months later for a 7” single for Pete Winkelman’s newly formed label Media Records but it was nothing like a hit!”

Watch/listen to the recently released “Lightning To The Nations (Original Lost Mix)” and “Sweet And Innocent (Original Lost Mix)” HERE.

Lightning To The Nations (The White Album) [Remastered 2021], will be released as a double CD, a deluxe 180-gram gatefold triple-vinyl edition containing the original album remastered, the lost mixes, and the bonus tracks. There will also be a single vinyl edition of just the remastered album, also on 180-gram vinyl. The complete recordings will also be available to stream and download.

Preorders are available now at THIS LOCATION.   

Lightning To The Nations (The White Album) [Remastered 2021] Track Listing:

  1. Lightning To The Nations
  2. The Prince
  3. Sucking My Love
  4. Am I Evil?
  5. Sweet And Innocent
  6. It’s Electric
  7. Helpless
  8. Lightning To The Nations (Lost Original Mix)
  9. The Prince (Lost Original Mix)
  10. Sucking My Love (Lost Original Mix)
  11. Am I Evil? (Lost Original Mix)
  12. Sweet And Innocent (Lost Original Mix)

Bonus Tracks:

  1. Shoot Out The Lights
  2. Streets Of Gold
  3. Play It Loud
  4. Waited Too Long
  5. Diamond Lights
  6. We Won’t Be Back
  7. I Don’t Got

DIAMOND HEAD will embark on a string of shows where they will be joining Saxon as special guests for the European and UK dates on their Seize The Day world tour.

10/02/2022 Trianon – Paris, FR
10/03/2022 013 – Tilburg, NL
10/04/2022 Capitol – Hannover, DE
10/06/2022 Admiralspalast – Berlin, DE
10/07/2022 Muffathalle – Munich, DE
10/08/2022 Capitol -Offenbach, DE
10/10/2022 Alcatraz – Milan, IT
10/11/2022 Z7 – Pratteln Z7
10/12/2022 Trix – Antwerp, BE
10/13/2022 Patronaat – Haarlem, NL
10/15/2022 Train – Aarhus, DK
10/17/2022 Pustervik – Gothenburg, SE
10/18/2022 Rockefeller – Oslo, NO
10/19/2022 Amager Bio – Copenhagen, DK
10/21/2022 Hedon – Zwolle, NL
10/22/2022 La Bam – Metz, FR
10/23/2022 Les Docks – Lausanne, CH
11/11/2022 Regent Theatre – Ipswich, UK
11/12/2022 O2 Guildhall – Southampton, UK
11/13/2022 De La Warr Pavilion – Bexhill, UK
11/14/2022 St. David’s Hall – Cardiff, UK
11/15/2022 Forum – Bath, UK
11/16/2022 Corn Exchange – Cambridge, UK
11/18/2022 O2 City Hall – Newcastle, UK
11/19/2022 King George’s Hall – Blackburn, UK
11/20/2022 Music Hall – Aberdeen, UK
11/21/2022 Barrowland – Glasgow, UK
11/22/2022 City Hall – Hull, UK
11/23/2022 Barbican – York, UK
11/25/2022 De Montfort Hall – Leicester, UK
11/26/2022 Roundhouse – London, UK

For EU tickets visit: https://www.saxon747.com/tour
For UK tickets visit: https://myticket.co.uk/artists/saxon

DIAMOND HEAD 2022 Lineup:
Rasmus Bom Andersen – vocals
Brian Tatler – lead, rhythm guitars
Karl Wilcox – drums
Andrew “Abbz” Abberley – rhythm, lead guitars

DIAMOND HEAD 1980 Lineup:
Sean Harris – vocals
Brian Tatler – guitar
Duncan Scott – drums
Colin Kimberley – bass