DARKNESS EVERYWHERE: “Starving Eyes” Single From Bay Area Melodic Death Metal Quartet Issued; Debut LP, To Conquer Eternal Damnation, Nears May 10th Release On Creator-Destructor Records

photos by Joe Calixto

“Starving Eyes” is the third single from To Conquer Eternal Damnation, the incinerating debut album from Oakland, California melodic death metal outfit DARKNESS EVERYWHERE, nearing May release on Creator-Destructor Records.

Unstoppable and unflinching from the first note, DARKNESS EVERYWHERE’s To Conquer Eternal Damnation delivers ten volatile tracks, burning with the patented early-1990s Gothenburg sound, adrenalized with merciless high-tempo executions forged by the second wave bands of the style, citing The Haunted, Dimension Zero, Carcass, and Hypocrisy. With zero ballads or filler tracks, and no venturing off-course, through every minute of the album, DARKNESS EVERYWHERE stays intensely focused on decimating their target: the listener.

To Conquer Eternal Damnation was produced, mixed, mastered by the band’s own Zack Ohren at Sharkbite Studios in Oakland and completed with artwork by Adam Burke and photography by Joe Calixto. The track “The Architect Of Misery” features guest vocals from Laura Nichol of Light This City.

Of “Starving Eyes,” founding vocalist/guitarist Ben Murray writes, “We’re excited to premiere our third and final single before the release of To Conquer Eternal Damnation. ‘Starving Eyes’ is the sixth track on the record, kicking off the B-Side. The song really encompasses our sound in a concise and crushing way.  Just over two minutes of unrelenting melodic death, with one of my favorite solos on the album. We hope you all enjoy it!”

Listen to DARKNESS EVERYWHERE’s “Starving Eyes” everywhere including YouTube HERE and Bandcamp HERE.

To Conquer Eternal Damnation will be released May 10th on LP, CD, MC, and digital platforms. Find preorders at the label webshop HERE and Bandcamp HERE. Also watch the LP’s videos for “Retaliation” HERE and “The Architect Of Misery” video HERE.

5/25/2024 Neck Of The Woods – San Francisco, CA w/ Vale Of Pnath, Abigail Williams, Summoning The Lich

DARKNESS EVERYWHERE formed as a trio in late 2020 with the goal of writing songs heavily influenced by the classic mid-1990s Swedish melodic death metal sound. However, this isn’t the individual members’ first time around the block when it comes to melodic death metal. Founding vocalist/guitarist/drummer Ben Murray is a founding member of Bay Area band Light This City, as well as being the owner Creator-Destructor Records, and now also a member of A Wilhelm Scream. Guitarist Cameron Stucky is a member of symphonic melodic metal act Crepuscle. Bassist Zack Ohren recorded and produced all of Light This City’s albums throughout the past twenty years and continues to be one of the leading metal producers in the industry, having worked with Machine Head, All Shall Perish, Animosity, Decapitation, Suffocation, and many more. Drummer Garrett Garvey fleshes out the now four-piece lineup of DARKNESS EVERYWHERE.

The glory years of early In Flames, At the Gates, and Dark Tranquillity are what largely inform the sound and aesthetic of DARKNESS EVERYWHERE. The core of the band is built on the feel of those legendary records, while offering a refreshing take on the no frills melodic death metal sound akin to the output of modern outfits Horrendous, Majesties, and Upon Stone. The band wastes no time in getting to the point of melodic death metal riffing and driving, thrashing tempos. Preceded by their 2022 debut EP, The Seventh Circle, and 2023 standalone single “The Glow Of Haunted Existence,” To Conquer Eternal Damnation is the band’s first full-length venture.