CYCLONE STATIC: New Jersey Melodic Punk Outfit To Release From Scratch LP In February; Title Track Premiered Via New Noise Magazine

[photo by Jon Pro]

New Jersey melodic punk rock outfit CYCLONE STATIC has completed their debut full-length album and is preparing to release the From Scratch LP via Mint 400 Records in early February. The band and label have posted the artwork and details for the record and have partnered with New Noise Magazine to premiere the lead single, the title track to the album.

Based out of Northern New Jersey in the New York City area, CYCLONE STATIC‘s smooth put powerful output flows like a punk rock storm, throwing sparks and bursts of melodic energy outward. Their driving songs surge to life with waves of crashing guitar and percussion, pulled into focus by a deep undercurrent of emotion. The trio, comprised of James Salerno on guitar and lead vocals, Danny Patierno on bass, and Jonathan LeVine on drums, produces sounds that are honest, economic and muscular. Salerno sings with unfiltered passion, Patierno provides a sturdy backbone of rhythm, and LeVine tightens their songs with power and precision. CYCLONE STATIC draws from and refines their best influences, merging elements of late-70s-punk, mid-80s hardcore, and early-90s alternative rock into raw, uninhibited music that captures their independent spirit and DIY ethos.

The debut full-length recording from CYCLONE STATIC, From Scratch is a slick, dynamic release that brings each of the band’s best traits to the spotlight. The band deploys bold hooks and instantly infectious melodies through all ten songs, delivering thirty-eight minutes of high-quality melodious punk. The album was recorded at Forest Of Chaos in Hawthorne, New Jersey by Neil Sabatino who also engineered and co-produced it and who also owns Mint 400 Records, the label releasing the record. From Scratch was mixed and mastered by Stuart Richardson at Rocky Water Studios, and its psychedelic Kozic-style cover art was created by Orion Landau of Relapse Records who has designed artwork for countless bands.

Tune in and hear CYCLONE STATIC’s “From Scratch” through New Noise Magazine at THIS LOCATION.

Some allies of CYCLONE STATIC have offered their thoughts on From Scratch including AFI vocalist Davey Havok who calls the album, “A fuzzed our nod to the punk frays of an early 90s flannel rock outfit. With tasteful melodic hooks adding a bit of Brit Pop sensibility these men bring gritty authenticity to driving rock n roll.” Geoff Rickly the lead singer of Thursday praises, “CYCLONE STATIC is an anomaly in modern music: a new band that throws us back in time at first listen. There’s something in CYCLONE STATIC‘s sound that’s evocative of a simpler time. Not just to a time of punk rock on the radio but a whole lost New Jersey paradise: Asbury Park before the renaissance, radios cranking out surf guitars and sandy, beach-blown harmonies, through empty lots full of downed power lines and bombed-out buildings.”

Additionally, drummer Jonathan LeVine is a well-known curator, and art gallery owner in the NYC area with connections running deep into the regional punk, hardcore, and fanzine realms of the tri-state area. His gallery sells and works with many notable artists in the underground worlds of Pop Surrealism and Street Art. See more HERE.

From Scratch will see digital release through Mint 400 Records on February 8th, with a vinyl pressing to be expected afterward. Watch for preorders and additional audio samples to be issued shortly.

Watch for sporadic live performances from CYCLONE STATIC across the region over the coming months in support of the album and expect additional audio samples to be issued as From Scratch nears release.

From Scratch Track Listing:
1. Walk This Line
2. From Scratch
3. Runaway
4. Company Man
5. Everlasting Glow
6. Circles
7. Sacred Island
8. Ordinary Days
9. Too Many Roads
10. Unstoppable

James Salerno – guitars, lead vocals
Danny Patierno – bass, vocals
Jonathan LeVine – drums