BL’AST! To Release Alternative Version Of Cult Debut LP Via Southern Lord

Following announcements over recent months proclaiming the release of Blood! – the newly-released but vintage recordings from iconic ’80s Santa Cruz surf/skate/hardcore act, BL’AST! – the band then confirmed their current live lineup which took over stages in the US last year for the first time in over a decade and a half. Original BL’AST! alumni, vocalist Clifford Dinsmore (also of Dusted Angel, Gargantula) and guitarist Mike Neider recruited Nick Oliveri (Kyuss, Queens of the Stone Age, Mondo Generator) on bass and drummer Hoss Wright (The Exies, Mondo Generator) to flesh out the brand new live lineup.

Now, Southern Lord will continue the new saga of BL’AST! with the mid-March release of The Expression Of Power. Flashing back to the mid-’80s, the band recorded their debut several times before finally emerging from the studio with their cult masterpiece The Power of Expression. The new issue of the LP will feature, for the first time ever, an alternate version (the Track Sessions) of the album, all fully remastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege. On March 18th Southern Lord will make The Expression Of Power available on CD and 3xLP including a twenty-eight page booklet with tons of BL’AST! photos from the mid-’80s. BL’AST!‘s boundary-pushing form of hardcore, advanced musicianship, unstoppable energy and intense perseverance is as prominent now as it ever was.

BL’AST! has confirmed several new stateside live actions, including a show tomorrow, Tuesday, February 18th in San Francisco, followed by a hometown rager in Santa Cruz in mid-April. In June they’ll cross the Atlantic to perform at the infamous Hellfest, in Clisson, France. Additional BL’AST! live actions will be announced in the coming weeks.

BL’AST! Live:
2/18/2014 The Chapel – San Francisco, CA
4/18/2014 The Catalyst – Santa Cruz, CA
6/21/2014 Hellfest – Clisson, France

The Expression Of Power Track Listing:
01. Time To Think
02. Surf And Destroy
03. Fuckin’ With My Head
04. E.I.B.
05. Our Explanation
06. The Future
07. Something Beyond
08. Break It Down
09. Time Waits (For No One)
10. I Don’t Need II
11. It’s Alive
12. Look Into Myself
13. Nightmare
Track Sessions-
14. Time To Think
15.Surf & Destroy
16. Fuckin’ With My Head
17. E.I.B.
18. Our Explanation
19. The Future
20. Break It Down
21. Time Waits (For No One)
22. I Dont Need II
23. It’s Alive
24. Scream For Tomorrow
25. Nightmare