BLACK WIZARD: Vancouver Volume Dealers Unleash “Harsh Time” At Decibel; New Waste Full-Length To See Release Through Listenable Records Next Month


Vancouver, British Columbia-based heavy metal/stoner rock alchemists, BLACK WIZARD, are preparing to unleash their latest full-length entitled New Waste. Set for release via their new label home of Listenable Records next month, the record boasts nine tracks of red-eyed, road-raging, retro-riff worship.

BeatRoute Magazine commends BLACK WIZARD for being, “the only band in town that will add inches to your dick,” while Sonic Abuse notes, “Taking the best bits from thirty years of heavy-ass metal, there are hints of Priest, Maiden, Sabbath, Purple and more, all wrapped up in BLACK WIZARD‘s own, patchouli-scented haze. The prog aspects of the album help to make the sound more unique and interesting and the delivery is spot on – gritty and brutal and yet with a deft touch that keeps things interesting throughout. If you like your metal to veer on the traditional and yet to offer an eclectic edge to keep things interesting, then you’ve come to the right place.” Team Rock notes, “With a name like BLACK WIZARD, you might expect a band scouring doom’s dark underbelly and spinning your brain into a state of dreamy lethargy, but this four-piece from Vancouver offer an all-round chuggier endorsement of Satan’s songbook…this album prefers to take you on a bong ‘n’ roll journey of odes that would appeal to anyone cast under Red Fang’s spell.” Adds Hellbound in an 8/10 score, “If you’re looking for the sounds and traditional metal of Motörhead, Priest, Maiden, Thin Lizzy and Sabbath, one can look no further. Also, for a new label debut, Listenable couldn’t have asked for a better album of catchy, crunchy and exciting songs.”

As a precursor to its release, today Decibel Magazine spews forth the second cut, “Harsh Time. Elaborates drummer Eugene Parkomenko of the track, “This is one of our favorites. It’s a wicked tune that captures the vibe of the whole record. So make sure to crank up the volume and get a drink going, ’cause it’s a ripper!”

Turn it up at THIS LOCATION.

New Waste Track Listing:

  1. Revival
  2. Harsh Time
  3. Laughing and Lost
  4. Vivian Girls
  5. Eliminator
  6. 6Unnecessary Evil
  7. Waiting For
  8. The Priest
  9. Final Ripper

BLACK WIZARD was forged in 2009 by four high school friends. Founding members Adam Grant and Eugene Parkomenko were both working underwhelming construction jobs at the time, passing the days to the sounds of Thin Lizzy, Deep Purple, Witch, and Electric Wizard. Heavily motivated by the thick, weight sounds of bands like Bison and 3 Inches Of Blood monopolizing the scene at the time, “The Wiz” was born. Having followed a true DIY aesthetic, the band has released two full length LPs along with a 7″ single independently and sold over five thousand copies worldwide.

More recently BLACK WIZARD has kept busy touring Canada and the United States and spent last Fall on a month-long trek through Europe. Having shared stages with the likes of Sleep, Uncle Acid, Corrosion Of Conformity, The Shrine, Atomic Bitchwax, Weedeater, Saviours, Anciients and so many more, the band shows no signs of slowing down anytime soon. No one is safe.

New Waste will be officially unveiled on February 12th, 2016 via Listenable Records. For physical preorders go to THIS LOCATION.

Adam Grant – Vocals, Guitar
Eugene Parkomenko – Drums
Evan Joel – Bass
Danny Stokes – Guitar


For BLACK WIZARD coverage in North America contact