BLACK HOLE GENERATOR: Black Metal Unit Spearheaded By Vulture Industries’ Bjørnar E. Nilsen To Release First New Offering In A Decade; Single Streaming At No Clean Singing

Photo by Jarle Hovda Moe

Photo by Jarle Hovda Moe

Forged in 2006, BLACK HOLE GENERATOR is the brainchild of Vulture Industries’ mainman Bjørnar E. Nilsen. It’s been a decade since the band’s first release, the critically-lauded Black Karma MCD, saw the proverbial light of day. And it’s of little wonder why given Nilsen’s frantic work schedule. Not only has Nilsen kept busy with the increasingly successful Vulture Industries, he is also among Norway’s most noted producers, working with bands such as Taake and Helheim, as well as owning Bergen’s Conclave and Earshot Studios with Enslaved’s Herbrand Larsen and Arve Isdal. But the wait is finally over as BLACK HOLE GENERATOR prepares for the release of their long anticipated A Requiem For Terra full-length.

Set to drop next month via Dark Essence Records, the seven-track offering shifts between the bleak aural landscapes of a desolate world and the frantic torrent of the abyss. From the brooding, doom-laden opener of “A Requiem For Terra,” and the mesmerizing riffing of “Moloch” to the catchy “Beneath A Chemical Sky” and the fierce “Emerging Pantheon,” A Requiem For Terra boasts Nilsen’s distinctive and highly charged vocals and enough stand-out riffing to satisfy the souls of any guitar aficionado, with Arve Isdal (Enslaved, Audrey Horne) on guitars, Gjermund Fredheim (Taake, Orkan) performing lead guitars on three of the tracks, and additional guitars by Dag Terje Andersen.

In advance of its release, No Clean Singing is currently streaming the record’s traumatic title track noting, “…this song that begins as a crusher builds to a massively headbangable crescendo. You listen, and you can imagine a desperate soul being pushed over the brink of madness – and thereby finding freedom. The pace accelerates, the vocals rise up in inflamed cries, and the riffing becomes more urgent and compelling, without in any way diminishing the song’s heaviness. The guitar begins to seethe, the bass to grind, and the drums to blast, providing an intense framework for a pulsing guitar melody. And when the intensity eventually diminishes, the melody becomes even more seductive, the magnetic notes continuing to ring out across your skull long after the song reaches its eerie and unsettling conclusion…”

Hear “A Requiem For Terra” at THIS LOCATION.

BLACK HOLE GENERATOR‘s A Requiem For Terra comes shrouded in the artwork of Romanian artist and designer Costin Chioreanu and will see release on CD, vinyl, and digital formats on November 18th, 2016 in Europe followed by a North America street date of November 25th, 2016. For physical preorders visit THIS LOCATION. Desirers of the digitals go HERE.

A Requiem For Terra Track Listing:

  1. A Requiem For Terra
  2. Titan
  3. Moloch
  4. Beneath A Chemical Sky
  5. Emerging Pantheon
  6. Earth Eater
  7. Spiritual Blight