AXIOMA: MetalSucks Premieres Primal Descent From Ohio Apocalyptic Metal Unit Featuring Members Of Brain Tentacles, Time Of Death, Dark Worship, And Atomic Witch; EP To Drop This Friday, November 3rd

Photo by Ed Battes

MetalSucks is currently streaming Primal Descent, the impending new EP from Ohio apocalyptic metal outfit, AXIOMA, in its scorching entirety. The premiere comes in advance of the EP’s official unveiling this
Friday, November 3rd via Stained Glass Torments.

Formed in 2015 in Cleveland, Ohio as a studio project focused on dark-sounding compositions, AXIOMA is a sonic conjuring of dark nihilism featuring Cyril Blandino (Time Of Death, ex-Morgue), J. Meyers (Dark Worship, ex-Aureae Crucis), Aaron Dallison (Brain Tentacles, ex-Keelhaul), and Nick Amato (Atomic Witch). 2016 found the band self-producing their debut EP Opia which was released on Tartarus Records in Europe. After establishing themselves as a formidable live force, 2019 saw the release of their first full-length the vitriolic Crown on Translation Loss Records. With 2022 breeding the LP Sepsis again with Translation Loss.

Primal Descent was written in 2022 in the aftermath of obvious worldwide upheaval. Without delay from the release of Sepsis, the band decided to construct a new offering reflecting some of the immediate ideas that came about during these egocentric and apocalyptic times. After pre-production in the rehearsal space in Cleveland, March 2023 saw the band entering Bad Back Studios located in Bath with longtime AXIOMA engineer Dave Johnson (Midnight, Fistula). After a few vile sessions, Primal Descent was refined and ready to be unleashed, an ominous and darkly organic ride through an underworld of our own creation.

Writes MetalSucks of the release, “Only four tracks long, the dark themes span the depraved and the hopeless, taking on topics like human folly and uncontrollable technology. Throughout the songs on the album, AXIOMA keeps it heavy and creates a vibe for the entire release, but they also tell a cohesive story about the imminent downfall of humanity.”

Stream AXIOMA’s Primal Descent EP exclusively at MetalSucks at THIS LOCATION.

Watch the band’s previously released videos for “Primal Descent” HERE and “Spectre In The Code” HERE.

The themes represented in Primal Descent’s four dynamic tracks seep within the dark and nihilistic foundation that AXIOMA has constructed and is known for since their inception. The title track, “Primal Descent,” hints at the devolution of the human condition due to the despotic advancement of technology. “Spectre In the Code” could be processed as a warning of a conscious and feral Artificial Intelligence. “Pageantry Of Miscreants” touches upon the veil of idolatry and art, while something inherently more sinister lurks. EP closer, “Fellowship of Serpents,” observes a prevailing all-inclusive yet grotesque culture withering upon its empty ideals.

AXIOMA’s Primal Descent EP will be released on CD and digital formats. Find preorders at THIS LOCATION.