ATRAMENT: Bay Area Crust Act Uniting Current/Former Members Of Vastum, Necrot, Mortuous, And More To Release Scum Sect LP; Trailer And Preorders Posted

Nihilistic Bay Area crust outfit ATRAMENT, features in its ranks current and former members of Vastum, Necrot, Mortuous, Abstracter, Moral Void, and Black September, is preparing to release their second LP, Scum Sect, on September 28th. The album will be issued through a coalition of underground labels including Sentient Ruin Laboratories, Caligari Records, and Blood Harvest Records, and this week a trailer and preorders for the record have been released upon the public.

Formed by vocalist Mattia Alagna (Abstracter), guitarist James Meyer (Abstracter, Vale, ex-Moral Void, ex-Black September), bassist Sam Carr-Prindle, and drummer Chad Galey (Necrot, Mortuous, ex-Vastum), ATRAMENT returns with Scum Sect, a thirty-minute offering of sprawling hostility and of marvelously regressed sonic barbarism. Fusing together crust/anarcho punk, black and death metal with classic Swedish d-Beat, ATRAMENT draws influence from bands like Doom, Discharge, Deviated Instinct, Skitsystem, Craft, Darkthrone, and Dismember to instate widespread terror and summon total sonic warfare. A must listen and own for any true fan of Wolfpack/Wolfbrigade, Skitsystem, Gehenna, Vallenfyre, and Acephalix, Scum Sect was recorded at Earhammer Studios by Greg Wilkinson (Vastum, Noothgrush, Autopsy), mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege (Nails, Vallenfyre, Full Of Hell), and completed with nightmarish artwork by dark surrealism master Stephen Wilson.

See a brief trailer for ATRAMENT’s Scum Sect at THIS LOCATION.

Scum Sect will see release on LP, CD, cassette, and digital formats September 28th. Find US LP, digital, and cassette preorders at Sentient Ruin Laboratories HERE, cassette preorders at Caligari Records HERE, and European LP and CD preorders at Blood Harvest Records HERE. Watch for additional audio samples from the album to be released in the days ahead.

ATRAMENT first appeared in 2015 with their infamously wretched two-song demo tape, following up the next year with their proper full-length album, Eternal Downfall, recorded at Earhammer Studios by Greg Wilkinson, mastered by Brad Boatright, and released in 2016 by Argento Records in Europe and Broken Limbs Recordings in the US. Eternal Downfall first introduced the full spectrum of ATRAMENT‘s bludgeoning sonic weapon: a maelstrom of incredibly dark, negative, and hateful crust punk driven by a barrage of crushing d-beat drumming and laced with the deadliest strains of primal death metal and of the most cancerous raw black metal. The record met with praise by high-ranking publications like Cvlt Nation, Metal Injection, Terrorizer Magazine, and Invisible Oranges, with many lauding the band’s clever, uncompromising, and highly lethal approach to primitive metallic punk.

Now, ATRAMENT has re-emerged with Scum Sect, their most vile and malevolent music to date. Within the total chaos and endless destruction of these harrowing thirty minutes, the listener will face a world riddled with plague and torment that appears hopeless and torn as an utter firestorm of crashing d-beats, shrapnel-infused riffs, and abhorrent atmospheres is unleashed upon them with methodical hostility. Thematically and lyrically with Scum Sect, ATRAMENT covers themes of nihilism and misanthropy, rejecting humanity in its every aspect and embracing instead all the vermin, diseases, plagues and calamities which affect humanity and which it attempts to constantly destroy and fight in its own parasitic quest for survival.

Scum Sect Track Listing:
1. Plague Upheaval
2. Chains Of Terror
3. Harbinger
4. War Seed
5. Boiling Blood
6. Spit On Mankind
7. Odium
8. Malignant
9. Craven
10. This Night Shall See No End

Mattia Alagna – vocals
James Meyer – guitar
Sam Carr-Prindle – bass
Chad Galey – drums