ATRÆ BILIS Vancouver Technical Death Metal Quartet Prepares To Release Apexapien LP Via 20 Buck Spin; “Lore Beyond Bone” Streaming + Album Art And More Issued

photos by Derek Carr

20 Buck Spin announces the signing of Vancouver, British Columbia-based ATRÆ BILIS, and is preparing to release the band’s debut LP, Apexapien. The label has issued the record’s cover art, track listing, and lead single, “Lore Beyond Bone.”

Canada has long been a wellspring from which fierce technical brutality has continuously flowed. In that tradition, ATRÆ BILIS offers the imminent predatory attack of Apexapien, their debut full-length offering and one poised to set them on a path of unfettered exploration and intensity.

Like many bands on the 20 Buck Spin roster, ATRÆ BILIS takes elements of several metallic subgenres and twists them together into a distinctive alloy greater than sum of its parts. On Apexapien, the follow-up to the highly praised 2020 Divinihility EP, angular, blackened dissonance, exhilarating experimental progressivism, and crushing guttural savagery merge into a cacophony of violently discordant death metal, all held together with a strict focus, discipline, and astonishing percussive momentum.

Thoroughly modern in scope and mercilessly severe in execution, the heinous battering inflicted on Apexapien establishes ATRÆ BILIS at the vanguard of a new breed of forward-looking death metal bands not content to simply pay tribute to or completely abandon the genre’s towering progenitors.

The lead track to ATRÆ BILIS’ Apexapien, “Lore Beyond Bone,” is now streaming on all digital platforms including YouTube HERE and Bandcamp HERE.

Apexapien was recorded by Matt Roach at Rain City Recorders, engineered by Matt Roach and Christian Donaldson with assistant engineering by Emily Ryan and Jonathan Mazzeo and drum technician Alex Glassford. The record was mixed and mastered by Christian Donaldson at The Grid Productions and completed with stunning cover art by Eliran Kantor (Atheist, Bloodbath, Hate Eternal, Sodom, Kreator), layout and design by Dan Fried, and photography by Rob Zawistowski. Highly recommended for fans of Ulcerate, Gorguts, Deathspell Omega, Wormed, Cannibal Corpse, Suffocation, Immolation, Dead Congregation, Hate Eternal, and Morbid Angel.

20 Buck Spin will issue Apexapien on CD, cassette, and digital platforms on October 8th, with the vinyl to follow on December 3rd. Stand by for additional audio samples, preorder links, and more to post over the weeks ahead.

Apexapien Track Listing:
1. Theta
2. Lore Beyond Bone
3. By The Hierophant’s Maw
4. Open The Effigy
5. Bacterium Abloom
6. Into The Seas Of Sepsis
7. Hymn Of The Flies
8. To Entomb The Aetherworld

Luka Govednik – drums
Jordan Berglund – vocals
Brendan Campbell – bass
David Stepanavicius – guitar