ANATOMY OF HABIT: Post-Metal/Noise Rock Collective Unveils “Radiate And Recede” Via Heathen Harvest

Ciphers + Axioms is the forthcoming full-length from Chicago post-metal/noise rock collective, ANATOMY OF HABIT. Fronted by noise prodigy Mark Solotroff of Bloodyminded, ANATOMY OF HABIT features a veritable who’s who of musicians including legendary drummer John McEntire (Tortoise, The Sea And Cake, Gastr Del Sol etc.), guitarist Will Lindsay (Indian, Wolves In The Throne Room etc.), percussionist Theo Katsaounis (Joan Of Arc) and bassist Kenny Rasmussen (ex-Radar Eyes).

Tracked at Soma Studios with sound sage, Sanford Parker (Minsk, Twilight, Corrections House), Ciphers + Axioms boasts two twenty-plus minute epic compositions. Fabricated by tense, monolithic walls of guitar and percussion nuanced by Solotroff’s dark, chilling, baritone vocal poetics, Ciphers + Axioms is a true genre-defying master work, at once traumatic and terrifying; ugly yet cathartic where the use of space and time is as much an instrument as sound itself.

In celebration of its imminent unveiling next month, today Heathen Harvest thrusts forth opening track “Radiate And Recede,” a disturbing canticle of controlled paranoia.

Get unsettled at THIS LOCATION.

Commended as a band that “truly defie[s] categorization,” by the The Chicagoist, who further champions ANATOMY OF HABIT‘s knack of mesmerizing listeners, “by lulling them into gothic ambiance one minute, and then snapping them out of it with whiplash-inducing fury on loan from metal and hardcore the next,” ANATOMY OF HABIT was forged in Chicago in October 2008. Encompassing elements of doom metal, post punk, death rock, noise rock, and shoegaze, their boundry-free sound earned the band consistent praise from a wide swath of listeners, be they people who experience the band for the first time, diehard fans who attend almost every show, or fellow musicians with whom ANATOMY OF HABIT has shared stages. A fitting sonic journey for fervent followers of Joy Division, Killing Joke, Bauhaus, My Bloody Valentine, Black Sabbath, Fields Of The Nephilim, Neurosis, Death In June, and Locrian.

Ciphers + Axioms will be released on CD, LP and digitally via Relapse Records on November 10th, 2014. Preorder you copy today at THIS LOCATION. For iTunes preorders, point your browser HERE and for BandCamp preorders, go HERE where you’ll also find streams of previous ANATOMY OF HABIT recordings.

“…a sonic diagram of audio magic.” – Cvlt Nation

ANATOMY OF HABIT blend indie rock, post, doom, and sludge into a work of sonic art that will remain with the listener for a long time.” – Sputnik Music

“…astoundingly powerful and unique… definitely deserving of your attention” – The Inarguable