ANATOMY OF HABIT: New Two-Song Mega Full-Length From Post-Metal/Noise Rock Experimentalists Now Playing In Full At Pitchfork

Following teaser streams from Heathen Harvest and Cvlt Nation, Ciphers + Axioms, the new two-song full-length from post-metal/noise rock experimentalists, ANATOMY OF HABIT, is currently playing in full at Pitchfork.

Slated to drop via Relapse Records next week, Ciphers + Axioms is a genre-challenging work of audio wonder, at once harrowing, penetrating and altogether purgative, where the usage of space, time and restraint is as much an instrument as sound itself. Manned by the ingenuity of noise virtuoso Mark Solotroff of Bloodyminded alongside drummer John McEntire (Tortoise, The Sea And Cake, Gastr Del Sol etc.), guitarist Will Lindsay (Indian, Wolves In The Throne Room etc.), percussionist Theo Katsaounis (Joan Of Arc) and bassist Kenny Rasmussen (ex-Radar Eyes), Ciphers + Axioms‘ dueling, twenty-plus minute compositions are made of edgy walls of guitar, distortion and percussion nuanced by Solotroff’s shadowy, baritone vocal incursions. Elaborates Music And Riots Magazine in a 9/10 review of the release, “Defying categorization, this five piece dwells somewhere along the realms of post-punk and doom metal. The instrumentation tends to be minimalistic and introspective, dense and solid in the heavy parts; there are long and hybrid song structures, alternating between soft clean guitar lullabying and merciless neck-breaking riffs; the lyrics are sometimes more spoken or cried out rather than sung, in the narrative ways found in bands like Slint, Swans or Enablers,” Metal Hammer rallies, “A bastion of experimentalism for some of the metal avant-garde’s heaviest hitters, ANATOMY OF HABIT‘s Relapse debut throws out the rulebook and stretches ambitious fingers towards the threshold of perception,” while The Wire adds, “…even when restrained, ANATOMY OF HABIT demonstrates a heaviness of spirit, a sublimated intensity that is strangely gripping.”

Fall into the barren serenity of ANATOMY OF HABIT’s Ciphers + Axioms, now playing in full at Pitchfork HERE.

Tracked at Soma Studios with sound magician, Sanford Parker (Minsk, Twilight, Corrections House), ANATOMY OF HABIT incorporates the prime essentials of doom metal, post punk, death rock, noise rock, and shoegaze making for a fitting sonic journey for fervent followers of Joy Division, Killing Joke, Bauhaus, My Bloody Valentine, Black Sabbath, Fields Of The Nephilim, Neurosis, Death In June, and Locrian.

Ciphers + Axioms will be released on CD, LP and digitally via Relapse Records on November 10th, 2014. Preorder you copy today at THIS LOCATION. For iTunes preorders, point your browser HERE and for BandCamp preorders, go HERE where you’ll also find streams of previous ANATOMY OF HABIT recordings.

“It starts off with a greyed-out death rock arrangement of grim guitars, slim hi-hat work and gloomy ejaculations on ‘unnatural responses.’ The track ebbs and flows between dour and distorted noise passages into skull-slamming metal and back into the quieter, though no less disturbing moments.” – Exclaim on opening track “Radiate And Recede”

“…astoundingly powerful and unique… definitely deserving of your attention.” — The Inarguable

“Over the course of two unique soundscapes, the band takes the listener on an excursion into a universe where one’s imagination is never ending!” – Cvlt Nation

ANATOMY OF HABIT blend indie rock, post, doom, and sludge into a work of sonic art that will remain with the listener for a long time.” – Sputnik Music