ACEPHALIX: San Francisco Death Metal/Crust Outfit Completes Theothanatology LP, Confirmed For September Release Through 20 Buck Spin; Cover Art, Track Listing, And “Abyssal” Single Issued

photos by Adam Houmam

ACEPHALIX wakes from five years in morbid repose with a new offering upon the glistening altar of flesh, a devastatingly tormented study on Theothanatology, the idea or belief that God is dead. Within this cerebrum shattering inquiry lies, as always, a primal spewing forth of vicious death metal malignity and bomb-raid hardcore dispersions.

Across a decade-and-a-half lifespan, the evolution of ACEPHALIX into the bludgeoning instrument of discord and dead faith displayed on Theothanatology has never felt so urgent. The crumbling siege-like mentality of modern life leaves no doubt God has left the building and ACEPHALIX adeptly soundtracks the contradictions, atrocity, and inner turmoil of such massive loss and decay.

Theothanatology sees ACEPHALIX returning to a quintet for the first time since their debut LP Aporia, the current lineup enlisting vocalist Daniel Butler (Vastum), drummer David Benson (Lawless, Said Sara), bassist Erika Osterhout (Chthonic Deity, Scolex), and guitarists Adam Camara (Ensepulcher, Battleshök) and Adam Walker (Kata Sarka, ex-Fog, ex-Graves Of The Endless Fall). ACEPHALIX is razor-focused on its greatest strengths, commanding the unambiguous sonic pulverizing of a bulldozer over the decimated skull pile of a once thriving civilization on Theothanatology, simultaneously more musically complex and savagely barbaric, heralding a collapse already in motion.

Created with Grammy Award-winning producer Greg Wilkinson at Earhammer (Fetid, Vastum, Ulthar, Undergang), Theothanatology‘s cover features the painting Girolamus Trasfiguratio by Ettore Aldo Del Vigo, completed with photos by Adam Houmam and layout by Dan Fried. ACEPHALIX is mandatory listening for fans of Vastum, Necrot, Entombed, Discharge, Undergang, Grave, Ossuarium, Slayer, Depravity, and Adramalech.

The lead single for ACEPHALIX’ Theothanatology, “Abyssal,” is now streaming at YouTube HERE and Bandcamp HERE.

20 Buck Spin will release Theothanatology on LP, CD, cassette, and digital platforms on September 30th. Find digital preorders HERE and watch for physical preorders and merch to post alongside additional audio previews and more over the weeks ahead.

Theothanatology Track Listing:
1. Theothanatologist
2. Godheads
3. Abyssal
4. Postmortem Punishment
5. Innards of Divinity
6. Pristine Scum
7. Defecated Spirit
8. Atheonomist

ACEPHALIX is confirmed to perform at Kill-Town Death Fest in Copenhagen, Denmark on September 2nd, the four-day festival also including sets from Asphyx, Dead Congregation, Mortiferum, Morta Skuld, Interment, Cerebral Rot, Witch Vomit, Encoffination, and many more. Watch for additional live excursions to be announced over the months ahead.

9/02/2022 Pumpehuset – Copenhagen, DK @ Kill-Town Death Fest [info]

Daniel Butler – vocals
David Benson – drums
Erika Osterhout – bass
Adam Camara – guitar
Adam Walker – guitar