ABRE OJOS: One-Man Experimental Audiovisual Project To Be Released Via Secrets Of Giza This May

Santa Barbara-based experimental label imprint, Secrets Of Giza, is proud to present Gates by ABRE OJOS. ABRE OJOS is the audiovisual project of Scott Baker, a multimedia artist from Melbourne, Australia with over 20 years’ experience working across the areas of installation, experimental music, video and illustration. Baker’s ABRE OJOS is an exploration of synesthetic modalities using geometric animations and extreme audio frequencies. ABRE OJOS has released multiple DVDs and has performed live all over Australia, including performances at the Eclipse Festival 2012 and for the past four years at the Rainbow Serpent Festival.

An investigative, minimalist sound excursion, the 11-track Gates includes an accompanying full-length DVD for an extraordinary audio-visual experience. The sonic voyage of Gates will liberate visions from the unconscious, transfiguring sound into mental images that conjure signposts along the path of inquiry, equally likely to culminate in revelation or a void. Gates is both art and mantra, challenging and soothing, reflective and punctuated, feeding and consuming. To appreciate Gates, one must fully embrace its active principle time and time again, shedding all resistance and inhibition.

Gates Track Listing:
1. Falling Suns, Dying Stars
2. Dirt Between Our Toes
3. Light On Our Foreheads
4. Golden Rod From Tip to Tail
5. The Knowing of Truth
6. Revealed In Strange Glows
7. Fractured Signals
8. From Home, From Centre, From Self
9. The Priests Dethroned
10. The Gates Are Open
11. Take Your Place

“Abre Ojos” was an old saying by Spanish and Portuguese sailors while navigating the dangerous reef infested waters surrounding Australia’s coastline meaning “watch out” or “open your eyes, there is danger all around.” Combining vintage analog electronics with twenty-first century digital technology, ABRE OJOS creates immersive audio-visual works. Deep and dark with glimpses of light, the experience shifts from provocative to meditative.

Gates will be released via Secrets of Giza on May 13th, 2014. Purchase your copy at THIS LOCATION. Further ABRE OJOS news to be dispersed in the coming weeks. Stay tuned.

“…(Gates) has the feeling of astral travel, of visiting different realms and meeting other life forms” – Heathen Harvest

“Baker explores the unsettling worlds between conventionally accepted euphonic sounds… this is evocative ambient music for late night hours.” – Crawl Space Magazine