VREID: Norwegian Black ‘N’ Roll Legion Release New Single

Today Norwegian black ‘n’ roll legion VREID release new single “The Way Of The Serpent” from their forthcoming new full-length, Welcome Farewell. Cold and compelling, the follow-up to 2011’s Norwegian Grammy-nominated album V, which Decibel Magazine called, “…VREID‘s finest hour,” was recorded at bassist Hváll’s own Studio 1184 and is set for North American release via Indie Recordings March 5, 2013.

Described by Metal Hammer UK as a “unique time-travel in metal,” commending their merge of ’70s rock, ’80s classic metal and Norwegian black metal, with the eight-track Welcome Farewell VREID again add a new twist to their already difficult-to-pinpoint sound. Comments Hváll of the new material, “It’s been a lot of work, but we are utterly pleased with the result. ‘Dark,’ ‘heavy’ and ‘VREID’ are the three keywords to describe it.”

Feast your ears on “The Way Of The Serpent” at THIS LOCATION.

And if you missed it, sample “The Reap” courtesy of the metal tyrants at Terrorizer HERE!

Welcome Farewell Track Listing:
1. The Ramble
2. The Way Of The Serpent
3. The Devil’s Hand
4. Welcome Farewell
5. The Reap
6. Sights of Old
7. Black Waves
8. At The Brook

VREID formed in 2004 following the demise of ”Sognametal” legends Windir. Some described their music as a fusion of Windir’s ambiance, the rawness of Norwegian black metal and the molten groove of Sepultura, Metallica and Motörhead blended with historically inspired lyrics. Their third and fourth offerings, I Krig and Milorg, were both concept albums based around the liberation work in Norway during World War II. Liberation was also the keyword on V, but put in a broader historical/philosophic perspective. The lyrics on Welcome Farewell describe a lifecycle through a series of short stories, seen from an existential point of view and, inspired by Hváll’s own local community with its nature, architecture and historical artists such as Arne Garborg and Otto Valstad, are more personal than ever before.

Hváll – Bass
Sture – Vocals/Guitar
Strom – Guitar
Steingrim – Drums