THE TIGER LILLIES: Corpse Flower Records To Issue Seminal Bad Blood + Blasphemy Full-Length From Cult British Trio On Vinyl

The perpetrators at Corpse Flower Records are very pleased to announce their issuing of Bad Blood + Blasphemy, from cult British trio, THE TIGER LILLIES, on vinyl.

Often deemed the forefathers of Brechtian punk cabaret, THE TIGER LILLIES are notorious for a wholly unique sound and aesthetic which merges the macabre magic of pre-war Berlin, the savage edge of punk rock, anarchic opera and gypsy music. Founding frontman, Martyn Jacquesspent, spent spent much of his 20s in a flat above a brothel in London’s Soho, peeping through his window at the buzz of Soho’s lowlife. It took him a good ten years to turn that strange world into art, while training as a singer and songwriter. In 1989 he got his first accordion and THE TIGER LILLIES were formed shortly thereafter.

Back in the early ’90s, the avant garde trio stood out immediately for its distinct musical craftings and quickly worked their way up from London pubs to the Piccadilly Theatre and buskers’ benches to the Sydney Opera House. Soon the THE TIGER LILLIES were touring the world and participating in various art and theatre projects. Within the last two decades THE TIGER LILLIES have performed an average of over two-hundred gigs a year and despite spending so much time on the road, they’ve managed to release more than one album a year. They’ve participated in numerous shows all over the world, collaborating with artists of all disciplines: from circus performers to Shakespearean actors, experimental dancers to avant garde photographers and burlesque puppeteers to classical music ensembles. The world of THE TIGER LILLIES is dark, peculiar and varied, with moments of deep sadness, cruel black humor and immense beauty. Their songs cover all the dark aspects of life, from prostitution and drug addiction to violence and despair. Always with a touch of twisted comedy and sharp irony. THE TIGER LILLIES shock, amuse and entertain in a postmodern vaudeville way, with their inimitable in-your-face shows, where no limit should be taken for granted.

Initially released in 1999 via the band’s own Misery Guts Music, Bad Blood + Blasphemy boasts fourteen delightfully twisted compositions of signature THE TIGER LILLIES audio absurdity accompanied by the talents of some of Berlin’s finest Turkish musicians. Given the wax treatment for the very first time, the Corpse Flower edition was mastered for vinyl by James Plotkin (OLD, Scorn, Khanate, Khlyst), includes brand new artwork by Mark Rudolph (Carcass, Coalesce, Battlecross) and will be limited to 500 copies in four different color variants: black, oxblood splatter on bone, blood red, and oxblood in milky clear. Preorders will come with a hand drawn 8″x10″ illustration of THE TIGER LILLIES (by Rudolph).

Check out the trailer below.

Bad Blood + Blasphemy Track Listing:
Side A

1. Bad
2. Killer
3. Car Crash
4. Maria
5. Start a Fire
6. Soho Boy
7. Neighbour

Side B
1. Angel
2. XYZ
3. Crack of Doom
4. Clown
5. Rapist
6. Salvation
7. Dead Souls

Bad Blood + Blasphemy will be released via Corpse Flower this April. Preorder you copy at THIS LOCATION.

“Brilliantly twisted.” — The Guardian

“There is nothing else like them. Any description of them is an injustice – they are completely peerless.” — Alex Kapranos of Franz Ferdinand

“Viva La Tiger Lillies from your fan.” — Mark Mothersbaugh/Devo