ORDO OBSIDIUM: Artwork & Track Listing Revealed

After over a year lurking behind a shroud of silence, ORDO OBSIDIUM will unleash their debut album, Orbis Tertius in North America via Eisenwald on October 10, 2011. Shifting between sprawling sorrowful black metal and hopelessly despondent funeral doom, Orbis Tertius boasts rich, continually developing compositions that set it apart from the glut of static and insipid modern bands of the genre.

In the uncompromising spirit of the ’90s, Orbis Tertius was committed to two-inch tape in August of 2010, at Louder Studios in California (Wolves In The Throne Room, Weakling, Thrones, Melvins, etc.) standing in vehement opposition to the sterility and over-compression of most contemporary metal. With striking cover art by Ba’al Graphics (Corpus Christii, Sonne Adam, Lugubre, Teratism, etc.) and layout by Erebus Studio (Feigur, Drudkh, Isolation, etc.), the five-track offering sounds like a mix of early Emperor, Mortifera and early Katatonia.

Marching the perilous road between orthodoxy and progress, the album will surely be met with both praise and condemnation. However one thing is clear, ORDO OBSIDIUM is not a carbon copy of a carbon copy of a carbon copy.

Orbis Tertius Track Listing:
1. Nequaquam Vacuum
2. Into The Gates Of Madness
3. Orbis Tertius
4. Emptiness Under The Moon
5. By His Unflinching Hand