BLOODYMINDED: Veteran Experimental Noise Unit Featuring Members Of Anatomy Of Habit, Indian, And More To Release Sixth Full-Length; Three-Track Single Out Now And Streaming

Photo by Carmelo Española

“We strove to create songs that considered the contradictory sense of loneliness and isolation that arises in densely populated modern cities.” — BLOODYMINDED

Stream / Share “BLOODMINDED” Three-Track Single At THIS LOCATION

Veteran experimental noise unit, BLOODYMINDED, will release its punishing sixth full-length later this month via BloodLust!.

The self-titled follow-up to 2013’s Within The Walls marks the first time ever all six current band members – Xavier Laradji, Will Lindsay (Indian), James Moy (Anal Hearse, Machismo, Ferro Mortem), Isidro Reyes (Anatomy Of Habit, The Fortieth Day), Pieter Schoolwerth, and founder Mark Solotroff (Anatomy Of Habit, The Fortieth Day) – recorded together in the same room at the same time. The group convened in Chicago, at Decade Music Studios, to write, record, and even squeeze in a historic six-man live show at hallowed Chicago venue, The Empty Bottle. They chose to once again to work with engineer/producer Sanford Parker (Buried At Sea, Minsk, Mirrors For Psychic Warfare, Corrections House), who handled Within The Walls. Mixing duties were handled by John McEntire (Tortoise), Solotroff’s former Anatomy Of Habit bandmate, while mastering was completed by Collin Jordan, who also worked on Within The Walls.

The disquieting thirteen track offering centers itself on the death of human interaction in an age of digital abstraction and disconnection. Notes Solotroff, “BLOODYMINDED deals with themes connected to the idea of ‘the struggle for togetherness’ and we fervently believe in the need for meaningful human interaction. BLOODYMINDED has spent years as a band with members dispersed across the globe and we’ve lived this struggle of togetherness as a creative, recording, and performing group – and especially as friends. Coming together to write, record, and perform was a vital experience for us, and both concrete and intangible barriers and borders were overcome, in the process.

“Cities and architecture feature prominently in this album,” he continues, “and we considered the various ways that people not only interact with each other, but how they engage with their surroundings, and how bodies inhabit and move through discrete urban spaces. We strove to create songs that considered the contradictory sense of loneliness and isolation that arises in densely populated modern cities. Our lyrics and our music were conceived to live and breathe at the intersection between human desire, sociological theory, digital solemnity, and concrete, glass, and steel universes. We recommend playback through substantial physical sound systems, but we also encourage our listeners to play this album through earbuds, while walking alone in a city, late at night. Play it loud or let some of sounds of the city seep into the mix.”

BLOODYMINDED will see release on May 31st on 180-gram double-LP in a gatefold jacket, eight-panel digipak CD, and digital formats.

As a precursor to its release, the band has released a three-song digital single of the title track featuring the album recording, a live version from the band’s aforementioned Empty Bottle performance, and the Soma Remix.

Stream the “BLOODYMINDED” three-track single at Bandcamp HERE or Spotify HERE.

The “BLOODYMINDED” single is available at all digital outlets: iTunes, Apple Music, Google Play, and Amazon.

BLOODYMINDED album preorders and additional track teasers, will be available in the coming weeks. Stay alert.


  1. Precise Surfaces
  2. Tunneling
  3. Infinite Recession
  4. Rapid Breath
  5. The Self And The Sublime
  6. Flooded Interiors
  7. The Future State Of The Body
  8. Essential Humanity
  9. Strident
  10. Hold Every Dear Thing Tightly
  11. The Pace Of Our Development
  12. Degrees Of Order

BLOODYMINDED is a heavy electronic band that was formed in New York, in 1995, after the dissolution of the pioneering American post-industrial noise group Intrinsic Action, which was founded by Mark Solotroff, in Chicago, in 1984. BLOODYMINDED‘s live shows are exceptionally energetic and are characterized by physical engagement, layers of abrasive analog synthesizer, aggressive vocals, and abundant feedback. In a live context, BLOODYMINDED celebrate and deconstruct the rock and roll performance.

While BLOODYMINDED most obviously operate within the contemporary noise scene, their sound is broadly informed by their early industrial forbearers, NYC pre-punk and noise rock, and British hardcore and grindcore. BLOODYMINDED has performed with diverse artists covering noise, power-electronics, experimental, avant-garde, death-rock, industrial, hardcore, metal and punk.

Xavier Laradji is an art book publisher and lives in Toulouse, France. Laradji has released a great body of increasingly lavish editions of art, music, and negative-culture books under the Timeless imprint.

Will Lindsay is a prolific guitarist and bassist (Middian, Wolves In The Throne Room, Nachtmystium, etc.), and along with joining Solotroff in Anatomy Of Habit for their 2014 album, Ciphers + Axioms (Relapse), he is once again playing in the negative doom band Indian.

James Moy established his reputation as a true death-industrial force, with solo work under the charming Anal Hearse moniker. He also currently plays in Chicago-based groups Machismo and Ferro Mortem.

Isidro Reyes became the metal percussionist in Anatomy Of Habit in 2018, and he continues as a member of The Fortieth Day, as well as a solo artist with releases on the esteemed Mexico City noise label, Ruido Horrible.

Pieter Schoolwerth lives in Brooklyn, New York and focuses on his painting career. Schoolwerth has had numerous international one-man, collaborative, and group shows in the last few years. He is also known for the remarkable run of Wierd Records, releasing numerous acclaimed recordings of minimal-synth, cold wave, and challenging electronic music. His weekly parties under the Wierd name brought hundreds of dark music artists to eager, debauched, late-night audiences in NYC, until he ended it in 2013.

Mark Solotroff continues to work closely with Reyes in The Fortieth Day and Anatomy Of Habit, he recorded and toured in the synth trio Nightmares (with David Reed and Jonathan Canady), and he recorded and performed with Thrill Jockey artists Wrekmeister Harmonies, from 2011-2015. He’s made guest appearances, live and/or recorded, with diverse groups, including Alma Negra, The Atlas Moth, Brutal Truth, Consumer Electronics, Indian, Iugula-Thor, Locrian, Plague Bringer, Sshe Retina Stimulants, Sigillum S, and The Sodality. He’s recently been focused on recording and performing tenebrous analog synth music with renewed vigor and determination. His newer synth work is an evolution from his overloaded wall-of-synth-noise Super Eight Loop recordings, which began in New York as soundtracks for walking through a pre-sterilization Times Square, and which he’s currently in the process of digitizing. All 100 hours of them.