APARTMENT 213: Magic Bullet Records To Digitally Reissue Back-Catalog Titles This Month; Cleveland Powerviolence Preorders Posted


This month sees Magic Bullet Records partnering with Cleveland outfit APARTMENT 213 – named after the apartment number of Jeffrey Dahmer – reactivating the majority of the band’s back-catalog into the digital universe. The band’s 2006-released Cleveland Power Violence album leads the charge with an official digital reissue this Friday, November 10th, followed by the massive forty-seven-song Collected Violence on November 17th.

Cleveland Power Violence is the sole full-length album from heavily lauded Midwestern maniacs APARTMENT 213. Sixteen songs in length, the album captures a perfect era in the band’s long-running career where their unique take on power violence and power electronics hit a sweet spot, all documented under the solid production skills of Cole “Slaw” Martinez at Conquistador Studios in 2006, except for the track “Lockweld: Infection” which was recorded by Steven Maketa.

Thematically, the band keeps entirely within their ultra-violent, serial-killer inspired focus, this time ramping up the intensity via contributions from Eric Wood (Man Is The Bastard) and summoning singer Steven Maketa’s alter-ego Lockweld (a noise/power electronics outfit rounded out by Karen Thomas). While adhering to the ultra-fast and ultra-slow dichotomy of the genre, exemplified by their peers in Spazz, Crossed Out, Despise You, et al, APARTMENT 213 found a way to make it their own through hook or by crook.

Backing vocals on Cleveland Power Violence were provided by Jim Fellahean and Matt Hemdale, and Eric Wood of Man Is The Bastard/Bastard Noise collaborates with the band on “Freak War,” the record completed with the grim art of Tared Swenson. Long out-of-print, 2017 marks the first time Cleveland Power Violence has been officially offered via all streaming and digital service providers worldwide.

Preorder APARTMENT 213’s Cleveland Power Violence RIGHT HERE.


Cleveland Power Violence Track Listing:
1. Headache
2. On Her 1st Birthday
3. Severed
4. Lockweld: Infection
5. Cosmetic/Vanity
6. Decay
7. Bizarre and Brutal Crimes
8. Wife Beater
9. Sweetheart, This is Gonna Hurt
10. Down Syndrome
11. Whore Bruises
12. BTK
13. The Green River Killer
14. After School 38 Special
15. You Better Run
16. Freak War